Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Weak RC error

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ghinson, May 26, 2015.

  1. ghinson

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    42
    Flying yesterday about 450M from home and saw poor video feed for the first time. There was a house and a few trees between me and the P3, so I should've expected it. In addition to the lines and interruption in the video feed, I also got the red Weak RC Transmission error at the top.

    It then occurred to me that the FPV feed and the RC control are now linked. Flying my old P2, I'd love FPV at 200M, but still have VLOS and control with the RC. Is this not the case with the P3? If I had continued to push it, would I have gone into auto RTH at the same time I lost reliable video feed? Any idea about how much of a warning the error message is?
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,855
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    FPV is not 'linked' to the controller. You can fly it w/o a video feed if necessary. However, since both dropped at the same time, there was clearly some interference or obstruction between you and the bird. Also make sure your antenna have proper orientation to the bird. And yes, if you lost complete control signal, RTH would have kicked in.
     
  3. ghinson

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    42
    Thanks, losing them at the same time (definitely due to obstruction) made me wonder if they're on the same radio feed.
     
  4. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    FL
    Same thing happened to me yesterday. Got Weak RC warning, Video went down, and bird entered RTH immediately.

    On a side note, I like that you can give input during the RTH procedure. From what people were saying in a couple threads I thought that canceling RTH was necessary to regain control.
     
  5. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.
    I've had the "weak transmission warning" for the last two days. a scrolling warning at the top of my screen. I never had a problem until I updated the firmware a few days ago. What's really bad and not being to see altitude and speed.
     
  6. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,457
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Youll get rth when control signal is lost completely however you can push on and try aiming more directly and pick both signals back up and continue to fly for miles. Thats what makes the lightbridge superior
     
  7. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,457
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    I wouldnt hurt to downgrade back to 5.1.30 then retry upgrade, calibrations again.
    I had that same thing happen after a successful imu calibration recently. I recalibrated and repowered and it was fine
     
  8. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.
    I'm trying to load the V1.4 now. It worked unlike 1.5 I tried to update to. I was at the point this morning where the motors wouldn't even start. I flew a bit yesterday but had problems all day. then this morning nothings working except the wing indicator lights and the camera. I've tried DJI GO and Litchi.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Weak error Forum Date
Constant Compass/GPS Errors and Weak Signal on P3S Standard/4k Discussion Jan 16, 2017
Standard New Camera weak signal error code Phantom 3 Help Oct 19, 2016
DJI Phantom 4 Weak Image error and poor video after iOS update to DJI Go 2.8.2 Phantom 4 Discussion May 30, 2016
Weak image transmission signal error at 2 feet Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 21, 2016
Standard Is Weak Signal 400 Foot Directly Above Normal? Phantom 3 Help Jun 18, 2017