Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Waypoints & Gimbal Pitch

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Stacy Rothwell, Oct 8, 2015.

  1. Stacy Rothwell

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying to use waypoints with a P3P. Is there no way for the app to record the pitch of the gimbal (camera tilt) during waypoints? I would think so as it's a known parameter But mine clearly isn't doing that. Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere?
     
  2. jeepjamis

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would u need to record the pitch of the gimbal? (Newbie)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    The OP means save the pitch so that it adjusts per waypoint automatically.
     
  4. Stacy Rothwell

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I'm flying from Waypoint 1 to Waypoint 2 and on Waypoint 1 I want the camera to show the horizon and on Waypoint 2 I want it to show the ground.... I want the gimbal to tilt, automatically from Waypoint 1 to Waypoint 2.

    I would think it can do that.
     
  5. jeepjamis

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Op? So as it flies to each waypoint, you want the camera to adjust to a specified parameter on its own?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,842
    Likes Received:
    5,549
    Location:
    US
    That's not possible. However, you can adjust the camera manually as your Phantom flies the mission.
     
  7. Stacy Rothwell

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. That really sucks and I'm dumbfounded that DJI wouldn't think that is something that should be a part of waypoints.

    If the point of Waypoints is to get the Phantom to fly the same exact path over and over, why would they think I wouldn't care about where the camera is pointed?

    I was planning on setting a mission so that every three days I would fly the exact same path and record the leaves changing for Autumn. Then I'd be able to dissolve between shots showing a progressive change.... but if I can't guarantee the camera is pointed the same way each time, it kind of busts that plan.

    I don't even see a place to get a digital value of the gimbal's pitch. I could at least get that and use that exact decimal value - but (unless I'm not looking in the right place) we only get the dots to the left of the camera settings.
     
  8. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    try Litchi, pretty sure that app allows for it.
     
  9. Stacy Rothwell

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks interesting but.... iOS iPad I'm afraid
     
  10. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    How bad do you need the functionality? :)

    you can pick up a Nexus 7 II for $100 and it works just fine.
     
  11. vx2

    vx2

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    This would be cool/useful if you're doing a long term timelapse... like a house or structure from beginning to end.
     
  12. Tony Perry

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    The Autopilot app can adjust the gimbal, though they currently don't implement waypoints (next release). The zip line feature might do what you need though.
     
  13. jeepjamis

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd say adding a decimal value to the gimbal tilt is something logical to ask for but what u want is a bit much. Why don't u just set your way points, fly your path , and duplicate that every time. Technically your idea, which is good, would still work but just not as perfect as u want.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. Justin Miller

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    98
    As someone who is working on an iOS ground station app I can tell you this feature is possible but it has to be managed by the app, it's not possible to set the gimbal pitch as a waypoint parameter when building a waypoint mission in the SDK. In our app I calculate the distance to a point of interest with the height of the drone to get the desired pitch of the gimbal and set it automatically in the app. Done properly it can create some really smooth results. While our app certainly won't be the end all be all of ground stations we believe it does have some nice features. Here is a little demo flight I took back in July that illustrates. Our app looks quite a bit different now than when this video was shot and includes beginning and ending altitude but you will get the idea.

     
  15. daveisim

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Rochester,NY
    I found this thread after wondering why my newly bought P3 didn't pitch adjust the camera on waypoints.

    So It's been almost a year and this need has yet to be implemented? The whole point of waypoints is to mimic a flight exactly as flown, position wise (speed per segment would be nice too).

    It does no good to have it fly a path but unable to take video at the same pitch angle point as the recorded points.

    The Inspire can do this. And it's just firmware (YES: I am an Engineer / Programmer / other) so it can be done. If I had known this was not implemented I would have looked at other drones.
     
  16. ElGuapo

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    It is possible on Autopilot, I can't speak about litchi. In Autopilot in advance mode there is a setting that can do what the OP is asking for, in fact there is a way on how to interpolate the focus points so it creates an smooth transition from the ground to the horizon. I just shot a video at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA . At one waypoint I was focusing in the "Rose Bowl" sign and on my next waypoint I focused in the center of the field as the aircraft picked up altitude. I interpolated the focus point so it created an smooth transition, rather than a jerky, abrupt movement.

    Check out, focus on the first 50 seconds of the video:

     
  17. ElGuapo

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    In the video mission of the Rose Bowl, the last waypoint in Autopilot has a camera trigger. You have the option to set the altitude of your focus point - POI.

    Here is an screen shot from Autopilot:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Richard R

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Ohio
    Litchi works fine on iPad. I use a mini 3
     
  19. ElGuapo

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Litchi is also a great App.
    Both, Autopilot and litchi produce great results.
    I do not know that much about litchi ( I use Autopilot all the time) but the consensus is that it is user friendly, easy to learn.