Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Waypoints Flight Altitude Caused Total Loss

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by bobomet, Apr 8, 2015.

  1. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I took my P2V+ V3 out today to get more familiar with using the "Waypoints" function before a upcoming vacation. I set it up for a 3 waypoint flight, and set the waypoints near the limits of the allowable radius .... the first time I had set up to go more than a 50 meters away from the home position.
    I had 10 satellites locked in, and all indicators were green and ready.
    I told it to "Go", the engines fired, and it took off - in the direction of the first waypoint, but climbing out too slowly, and into the roof of a neighbor's house, some 35-40 meters away.
    Is there some correlation between distance and climb rate to the first waypoint?
    I suffered a badly damaged shell and lost all props --- but I have some spare parts if anyone is interested.
    Thanks for any help with this one.
    Bob
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    It is not able to detect that there is a object between you and the waypoint.

    You basically said go from here to there. It will do so in the shortest distance.

    Why would you expect it to do anything different?
     
  3. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    When I flew the very short waypoint flights, it appeared to climb to near waypoint-altitude quickly.
    I was thinking (in error for sure) that it would do the same when heading to the first distant waypoint.

    But lesson learned I think was:
    1). In close confines, set the 1st waypoint almost straight above the home point at a safe altitude
    2). Then set you first "destination", (2nd) waypoint, wherever you desire.

    I do wish this were spelled out clearly in the tutorials ... (perhaps I missed this!).
     
    Ross and n6vmo like this.
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    I didn't mean to be snippy.
     
  5. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    That's OK .... I almost feel like I want to be flogged ....
    Did anyone else encounter this sort of thing?
    I tried to search it on the forum but had no luck ....
    I do think if you plan to do a Waypoints Flight from within a relatively close area with trees & homes, the trick is to always set your 1st waypoint almost directly above your home position, and high enough up to take you safely to your first stop.
     
    Ross likes this.
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    I must also say I don't use the waypoints but that what you encountered is typical of a 'blind' point to point flight controller.

    (I have a P2 non-vision that I just use for sport flying.)
     
  7. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    Bobomet, I think you can just position your drone, say 30 or 40 feet above the Home location, then hit GO to start the mission. I haven't tried that but I seem to remember somewhere that you can do that...
     
  8. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Thanks for that advice .....
    So I guess then that you can take off in GPS mode, climb to a safe altitude, swipe left then on the App screen, and the waypoints flight you've already set up will still be there?
    That would be great!
     
  9. MapMaker53

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Best practice in setting the first waypoint is high and close and I'd say is a pretty commonly known practice which I have seen discussed in this forum. You have to assume straight-line flight from launch to first waypoint. You can also launch straight up to altitude and THEN hit the Go button to start your waypoints flight. Sorry you weren't aware of that.

    Oops. Someone beat me to it.
     
  10. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Thanks MapMaker .... so I guess I can set up the Waypoints Flight, and then start the motors myself and take off - climbing to a safe altitude, and then tap "Go"?
    I'll try that too when I get my next bird.
     
  11. marley1000

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  12. BadOleRoss

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for you loss! I am brand new to this and have only flown by bird twice and have not used waypoints at all yet. Thanks for sharing your experience, it's something I had not thought about to be honest.
     
  13. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Glad this experience will be of help. I'll get a new bird as soon as I figure out the specs on the P3, and hopefully all will be good from there.
     
  14. MapMaker53

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I also like to set the last waypoint close to the home point, even though the last leg of the trip will always be to home. It just gives me a little more confidence that all is going as planned when it hits that last location. Maybe it's because I haven't flown that many.
     
    Ross and bobomet like this.
  15. bobomet

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I'm with you on this MapMaker ....
    I'm leaving nothing to chance ever again when it comes to software controlled flight ....
     
  16. BadOleRoss

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    See, another little nugget that I can file away. Not only is the first waypoint important, the last one before heading for home needs to be considered as well. For us newbs, this is good stuff!
     
  17. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Kinda...

    ALL waypoints should be evaluated for obstacles enroute of the flight plan.
     
  18. eseckinger

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    55
    Know your flight path, I always go up at least 120ft before I hit go on a mission and usually do all missions at 200+ft just to be safe. Always error in the favor or altitude. Remember this. If you are on a mission and you are about to hit something flip to ATTI Mode and Go straight up and or reverse.
     
    bobomet likes this.
  19. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Be sure to set your return to home in the assistant too. I had to jump mine to 150 after a close call with a couple of 137 ft tall trees.
     
  20. mmee1992

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    139
    Keep in mind that you cannot do waypoint missions with the P3 until DJI decides to release the SDK. Then you have to wait for an independent developer to develop an app that has that capability. Pretty sure they did it to keep the FAA happy so that their product is not capable of autonomous flight straight from the box.
     
    bobomet likes this.