Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Waypoints and POI

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by 2k3sgm, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. 2k3sgm

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    34
    First mission flown seemed to work ok but did have a couple hiccups. First flight on POI went without a hitch. On to the waypoints, set points fine but during execute mission failed between point 1 and 2. Return fight to me the app crashed, HARD. first time i have ever had to do a complete close and restart, iOS. once going again i launched the waypoints and all went good, whew. Then set a new POI and when I tried to launch I got a "mission conflict". I'm going to guess this was due to the battery being @ 34%.

    Also, take note if you set your braking down to 70, the update resets it back to default!
     
    mirrorimage likes this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,056
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
  3. 2k3sgm

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yes, I validated everything but missed the braking. All was status quo, except the braking apparently.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,056
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
    This time it was the braking. What will it be next time? That's why I always recommend checking everything to be safe :)
     
  5. Russ

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Naxxar Malta
  6. Sunrise

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    What is the point of way points flight, if you have to fly there to set the point. I fail to see, what sort of feature is this. I was expecting that you could draw on the map (as APM) the waypoints, load it on the aircraft and that will execute the mission. Doint the same flight twice is just ... us less...
     
    Russ, Joao Carlos and Buckaye like this.
  7. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    BINGO - it is a stupid implementation... I used to have ground station on my P2 and you could set the mission in advance... I really dislike this implementation. POI is cool as is follow me.... but just BOOOOOOO on waypoints.
     
  8. Joao Carlos

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    42
    My thoughts exactly... I was thinking we would be able to draw the route on the map, set altitudes and execute. This replay thing is useless for me.
     
  9. tomtnt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    69
    It is basically a copy of 3dr solo's cablecam. While it doesn't meet your needs, many are using it to do automatic panning shots between 2 points.

    For your usage which requires prep Lanning on a map, consider litchi for android