Wavy lines in video

Reaction score
So I received my Phantom 2 today. I installed the Zenmuse H3-2D and took it out for a flight. After I got home, due to a crash but only a broken propeller, I noticed the video is kind of wavy. I have a GoPro 3 Black+ and have the video set to 1080P Wide at 60FPS. Does anyone know what this is from? I am thinking it could be the fact that it is on wide FOV and you can see the propellers so may it is trying to keep up with them? Just looking for suggestions. What is everyone filming in, wide normal or narrow FOV?

Thanks for any help or suggestions. I am just getting started and looking for advice.

You might want to do a search on "Jello Effect". I could try to explain it but....

Thanks, I understand the jello effect, but I thought the Zenmuse was supposed to prevent this from happening. Also, I forgot to mention that while the Phantom is facing away from the sun it does not do this. I am trying to upload a video to show what I mean. It is not through the whole video, just while facing or flying in the direction of the sun.

Hi,
It sounds like a "flickering type shadow" caused by the props casting a moving shadow across the Gopro lens. Some people add a home-made lens hood to the camera. Or I find if you tilt the camera down a bit with the gimbal tilt option that can reduce it. Flying away from the sun does not suffer from this effect as you have found out.

bill

Thanks for all the great advice!! A separate questions, is there a way to get email alerts when someone replies to your post? I have a busy schedule, as I am sure most do, and do not get a chance to log on as much as I would like. I was not notified that I had a reply(s) to this post.

Thanks!!

GoProRookie said:
A separate questions, is there a way to get email alerts when someone replies to your post? I have a busy schedule, as I am sure most do, and do not get a chance to log on as much as I would like. I was not notified that I had a reply(s) to this post.

Thanks!!