Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Was firmware v3.08 a bad descision?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by flyNfrank, Nov 26, 2014.

  1. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,236
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Now that you have had firmware v3.08 installed for a little while, would you go back to v3.06 if you could?

    The reason I'm asking is, I have not made the move yet, so I want to see if it is ok to add or not in your opinion.?
     
  2. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    I want to go back to 3.06 because of gimbal levelling issue...
    To scared to downgrade batteries though.

    Im certain gimbal issue is from 3.08 or zen fw that got updated aswell. Its minor issue... but pissing me off seems it was perfect before.

    Do you think it would be safe to get 3.2 and downgrade zen fw ? Never downgraded anything before but I assume if im using 3.6 assistant... load up 3.2 it will say im using a newer version of zen but still give me option to downgrade??

    Also had my battery error msg since updating but in fairness I had 10+ full flights before I got error (and after update). And only seems to be me who got it...

    RTH going heaps slower speed also concerns me... and the new RTH height thing will be good and bad. It will save some people and screw over others depending on situation.

    I only had for 3 months so not an expert like you guys but i see no benefits from 3.08 for me.. I dont use gimbal lever..

    On a related topic the auto update trick they did last weekend was b/s. When I spend $1500AUD I want to control what goes on... if it was so important they could of stuck it in news or on website strongly recommending people to update it. If that update caused crashes, not saying it did or will.. but if it did I doubt we'd all be getting free replacememts. Sorry for rant.. im only now discovering the sneaky tactics youve all known for ages lol.

    In summary.. if you want the new features go for it.. flies fine.. just minor issues..
     
  3. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    I haven't had any problems with 3.08, and I benefit from the additional features. By far, the biggest thing is enabling the gimbal tilt through the controller; the P2V+ is a camera platform and having tilt limited to the app was just killing me. I couldn't do any complex maneuvers and accurately control the camera at the same time.

    I haven't had any of the Zen/battery issues others are reporting though. I imagine any improvements are moot if you can't fly or film at all...
     
  4. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you have the new tx with the tilting weal you can safely upgrade to v3.08 and enjoy all the features it brings. However, if you have the old tx you should be carefull. In that case you still can upgrade the assistant to 3.08 but you should NOT upgrade the Zen fw on the upgrade page of the new assitant, because that fw upgrade is intended to utelize the tilter weal of the tx but will comprimise the werking of the gambel in your configuration with an old tx.
     
  5. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Unless you take matters into your own hands ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
    ElGuano, what exactly are you trying to show us above?
     
  7. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry for the unclear picture! I modified the tx with a slider pot (it has an orange led in the pic). It has a center detent so I can select "upgraded controller" in the 3.08 firmware and tilt stop the gimbal without needing the new controller.

    It's a $4 mod and adds so much functionality to the vision plus.
     
  8. SilentAV8R

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County, CA - USA
    I bought the new TX, upgraded to 3.08 and have no regrets. Every update has worked as expected for me. I have always been fasicnated by those that find issues along the way. I guess either I'm lucky or something!! ;)
     
  9. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Elguano did you follow a howto or if not care to tell us howto do it please?

    What issues does updating zen with old TX cause?

    Im tempted to get 3.2 and try downgrade zen.. but suspect its going to end in tears... and need to ensure my issue is the expected behaviour of upgrading with old tx.

    Spose I could just get over it and fly... hmm
     
  10. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm putting together a tutorial. I posted one last year as well (same mod as for the phantom 1) but documented this one better and figured people might be interested due to 3.08 enabling rate based tx control.
     
  11. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Cool thanks:)

    Does any body have the link of that site that has old versions of assistant software ? gonna get 3.2 and downgrade zen... wish me luck :]

    *edit* lol found 3.2 on dji website.. just need to change the url of 3.4.exe file to 3.2.exe :p
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
    Windows:
    Phantom 2 Vision+ Assistant Software v3.2 (download)
    Phantom 2 Vision+ Assistant Software v3.0 (download)

    Mac:
    Phantom 2 Vision+ Assistant Software v3.2 (download)
    Phantom 2 Vision+ Assistant Software v3.0 (download)
     
  13. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Bloody hell it says latest version is 1.0.0.6 which is what I have.
    thought by installing 3.2 assistant it would give me that firmware.

    oh well... :/

    Interesting for my zen hardware id is "-1"

    Only issue is sometimes gimbal is skew for a sec before fixs itsself... I think I just leave it alone :/
     
  14. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
  15. Drone-Outlaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    United States,Houston, Tx
    Hello,
    Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I have too ask...

    I read a post by a member that stated the reason folks were having issues getting their new "P2V+ TX" to work properly ie: "the new TX's 7th chan wheel operation" was that they needed to "DELETE THE DJI ASSIST PROGRAM FROM THEIR PC FIRST" , "THEN RE-LOAD IT BACK ON THEIR PC" ,
    and finally "RELOADING BACK ONTO THEIR P2V+
    "

    Here is my dumb question...OK...
    Since we are now up to firmware 3.08 , does that mean I would need to delete all the other Firmware upgrades on my PC? Or asking in a different manner, if I just received my P2V+ would I need to just upload the most recent 3.08 firmware, and it would include all the previous firmware info that I would need??


    Again I'm sorry if this is an ignorant question....
    M
     
  16. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Posted up the tutorial and pics here: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=30302

    Moose, all questions are good here! If you just got a P2V+, all you should do is download the Phantom 2 Assistant for Windows or Mac from DJI.com, run it with your Phantom connected, and upgrade your firmware if it says you need to. If it doesn't prompt you to update, you don't have to do anything else.
     
  17. SilentAV8R

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County, CA - USA
    Mopar Bob posted the method I followed. WOrk like a charm:

    I used this and it worked perfectly. Several others have as well. It is the RC Assistant you need to dump and reload, NOT the Phantom Assistant 3.6
     
  18. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh I didn't even consider that to be an issue lol.. I was more concerned with how the gimbal isn't level all the time in non fpv mode.. sometimes is.. sometimes isnt.. and when its not it takes a few seconds to correct its self... seems like its just me and a handful of people experiencing that issue.

    the tilt one was way less an issue for me than gimbal not being straight, sometimes.. anyways whatever.. I'm just gonna enjoy flying :)

    *edit* Thanks for that Elguano :)
     
  19. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep, other than undocumented versioning, the instructions for RC Assistant have always been wrong. It explicitly states that you can only use it to calibrate A/E/R/T, but in reality it calibrates all active channels, including X1. This one's been reported to DJI a few times, but it seems they haven't gotten around to fixing it yet.
     
  20. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,236
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Justin00, 1.08 has been the only version we have been able to go back to since v3.04. Prior to that we could go to v3.00. And performance wise v3.00 was the all time best of them all. Talking 10-15mph descending, 35-40mph in phantom mode. Pure awesomeness. lol!

    All you guys came up with some valid points. Good feedback, no doubt.

    Ok so now check out this bad luck I had this evening.

    One of the members saw this thread and asked if I could take a screen shot showing my firmware still at v3.06 for something that person was working on. I said sure no problem. Well, I have this thing about stuff being loaded on any of my devices for any reason. So to take this screen shot I setup the Assistant and then plug in my quad and power it up. As you all know already, sure enough a download download begins installing on my quad! I look real quick for a way to exit or stop it but I don't see anything. I grab the usb cable and pull it out while in it's process. It's messes up something with the compass and my only way to repair was to install v3.08 and that is what I did. I did not install the zen upgrade yet cause I don't yet have the new controller.