Warnings while flying in -5 degree weather in Colorado.

Reaction score
Hello all, so upon taking my bird on my vacation, she flew like a champ yesterday in the cold. This morning around 5:30am I decided to get some night shots. Temp was -5 degrees. I let her warm up for a bit before I took her up. All was going well until about 5 min in when I received multiple errors on my screen. "Missing prop", "motor obstructed", "loose motor". I have never received these messages before and always do safety checks before each flight. What gets stranger is that when I brought her back in immediately there was nothing wrong at all. I checked the flight logs and it shows 2 different flights/ logs during the whole flight. Why 2 separate logs when it was just 1 flight??? Could the motors have gotten too cold to function properly. I was able set her down with no problem. This is my first time flying in the freezing weather. In total though this was my 103rd flight logged. Any ideas what happened? I'm leaning on the freezing weather and the motors starting to freeze.
Thanks

Yeah I wonder as well. I'm up to date with the firmware. I'm going to wait till temp is around 16 degrees and take her out again.

You get some ice probably.. So motors were really loosing rpm...

I'm not sure electric motors would function any less in cold weather. After all, they create an immense amount of heat. That being said, I couldn't tell you what could have caused that. :/

I did get this message from DJI. Maybe it make sense:

Flying DJI aircraft in winter can be fun, but we have heard that some of our users have experienced issues when flying in cold weather. Did you know that as the temperature drops, so does the performance of the LiPo battery inside your aircraft? Read on to find out how to look after your battery and keep yourself in the air.

The Science