Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Warning: satellite positioning off

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by hcoronel, Mar 23, 2016.

  1. hcoronel

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today I was trying to calibrate my p3p and got the following message "Warning: satellite positioning off".
    I couldn't find any info in the manuals. Anybody knows what this means ?
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1458799355.863715.jpg
     
    #1 hcoronel, Mar 23, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016
  2. ullhan84

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wow. Interesting. What does it really mean? Maybe try again in another area?
     
    hcoronel likes this.
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Never saw this message but this means GPS is disabled.
     
    hcoronel likes this.
  4. hcoronel

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I'll try that. I was flying in the usual area. May be some new kind of interference
     
  5. vijay

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problems. I've reinstalled the firmware and did all the calibrations resets but every time it says "Safe to Fly" the moment it takes off it switches to "Safe to Fly (Non-GPS)" followed by "Satellite positioning off. Fly with caution" No idea what to do. Any suggestions??
     
  6. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    80
    What firmware are you using? Are you in an area with a "clear sky" instead of overhead occlusions?
     
  7. smilegas

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Grand Lake, OK
    Only 8 satellites possibly the problem?
     
  8. StratocasterDave

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    30
    I too have noticed this. I was in an area that had a lot of interference, so I flipped into atti.
     
  9. ddh1313

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    35
    I started getting this after 1.7 specifically when I carry it to a take off spot after being turned on. Never had any issues in flight as a result.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Not enough sats.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    I've had the "safe to fly - non gps" flickering yesterday but today after installing dji go 2.3.0 No issue at all.

    I think, with my config, bird fw 1.5, rc firmware 1.4.3, dji go 2.3 is the best choice. It's even more smooth in video feedback and have not the issue of 4:3~ fpv when in video recording mode.
     
  12. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Hey DJI! Is it too much to ask that you EXPLAIN YOUR ERROR MESSAGES somewhere? Especially the new ones. We see this pretty much every new firmware - some warning that no one has ever seen before. So we have to guess, ask others, make incorrect assumptions and eventually get some clue as to what is happening.

    But it wouldn't be too hard to just keep a running list of error messages and a brief explanation. It really wouldn't be.
     
    alokbhargava likes this.
  13. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    True, DJI owes us a document describing the possible causes of all error messages.
     
  14. hudster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    West Pittston, Pa
    image.png
    I just got that message after I swapped the shell because of a crash. It will eventually pick up the satellites, but if I put my hand over the top of the drone to move it, i will lose all satellites and will receive that message again. This never happened before in the older body.
     
  15. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,930
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    The OP's image shows Safe To Fly (GPS) at the same time he's getting the error message. So how can the GPS be disabled?

    I think vijay in post #5 might be on to something in that interference is creating a GPS accuracy problem. The word "off" may mean off as in inaccurate rather than off as in not on.
     
  16. ullhan84

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Honestly, this happen to me everytime i move both of my p3a. Only for a few sec i loose gps if i move it for a few seconds. No big deal imo.
     
  17. victinho fernandopolis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aconteceu comigo. Tinha desligado localização do android no telefone para todos os aplicativos por pouco período. Ao religar a localização no android novamente o aplicativo DJI GO não aceitou a correção.
    Solução: Desinstalar o DJI GO e ativar a localização no android novamente. Reinstalar o DJI GO.
    GPS volta a funcionar imediatamente.