Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. David Cooke

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Sarnia ON Canada
    Just a quick note if you are buying an iPad for the Phantom 4. It's clear to me now that the iPad Air 2 has a software/firmware problem with the P3 . . and vice vera. I had a new P4 with iPad 4 Mini . . . worked great. Tried to get a bigger screen (iPad Air 2) . . both 64Gig latest iOS. Whenever you try to connect the Air to a P4 it thinks the P3 is a P3Pro and will only allow connection as a P3 . . . which means, no Camera and no P4 functions. I switched it back to the P4 . . . works perfectly. I had done a return at BEST BUY. They were very good even though I was just over the 2 week grace period . . . they sold me the iPad Air 10" screen for just $50 more. Then I spent the entire evening and 5am to 9am the next morning trying all the great suggestions on this and other Foums. NOTHING worked. Thanks CCDD nice try but no joy. When I went back to the store the next day ( only 14hrs later they could not be nicer and understood . .. swapped it out right away an transferred everything but the dji GO app . . back flying again and happy as S%*t. I'd say considering an iPad Air 2. . . . don't bother. It will just make more gray hairs.
     
    Aunt G and flpholt like this.
  2. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    405
    Not really sure what you're actually talking about. Why is this a warning, because something happened to you?
     
    AUSPETE and Oso like this.
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Not sure what was the problem with your iPad Air 2. I have iPad mini 2 and iPad Air 2 and couple more iOS devices and I'm able to use all of them with RC and AC
     
    Cale262 and skyhighdiver like this.
  4. spookypilot76

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Elkridge, Maryland
    +1


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Impeccable Air 2 64gb Cellular here. Never an interruption or problematic concern. Awesome performance since day one. ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
    NorthcountySD and bradbrok like this.
  6. SteveAikens

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Clovis, NM
    I have a P3P and use an iPad Air 2 wifi+cellular. Other than the crappy display in sunlight - I haven't experienced any issues with the system.
     
  7. Curasail

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    56
    iPad Air 2 - iPhone 6 - iPad 2 all work great with my P3P although iPad 2 screen too large for holder on the RC but hey l can live with that
     
  8. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    I also have an air 2 and iphone6 - both in regular use with no issues.
     
  9. Donw35

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    air 2 and iPhone 6 with no issues
    flight a dusk in the canyons =
     
    Mario_SB likes this.
  10. David Cooke

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Sarnia ON Canada
    Yes my P4 worked fine with iPhone 5s too all functions worked without a hitch . . . if your eyes are under 30yrs old . . video was a bit jumpy . . but no luck at all connecting to the Air 2
     
  11. David Cooke

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Sarnia ON Canada
    I just meant don't spend a bunch of money on an iPad Air 2 and and all the frustration and have to deal with sending it back and etc . . trying to save people the aggravation I went through even though I did not lose any money. Maybe WARNING was the wrong word . . I was just very frustrated after the whole ordeal.
    Cheers!
     
  12. David Cooke

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Sarnia ON Canada
    That's right . . works fine with P3, P3 Pro etc. it's the P4 that the Air2 does not like (recognize)
     
  13. Phantomsphere

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Stone Mountain, Georgia
    Not so, I have the large screen Air 2 and my Phantom 4 operates flawlessly. No problems.
     
  14. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    Australia
    I fly IPAD A2 and various android devices. Never a glitch on the Air2.... GO, LItchi, Autopilot, Dronepan.... All good.
     
  15. druss2001

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    10
    I have a p3p with iPad Air 2 and have no issues either.
     
  16. Jim Carr

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4

    This may vary by specific model / carriers. I have a iPad Air 2 that works great with both my Phantom 3 Pro and my Phantom 4! It happens to be one I got from Sprint..... don't know if that makes a difference. Just my input.
     
  17. David Tolsky

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    5
    My plan is to buy a used iPad 2 mini and a Hoodman tall shade. All the size I need.
     
  18. YoshiK1

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    7
    I had this issue with my P3A when I switched to an IPad Air 2 from my iPhone 6. I couldn't use it at all though. I wiped the IPad Air through iTunes after putting it in DFU mode and it resolved the issue and was showing as a P3A instead of a P3S. These instructions were from CCDD in a previous forum and it must be in DFU mode and restored as new.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. BlueSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    7
    Phantom 4 and Inspire 1. iPad Air2, iPhone 6, and iPhone 6s Plus.

    Never any issues.
     
  20. David Cooke

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Sarnia ON Canada
    Good to know. My iPhone 5s was fine too but video a bit patchy. 2 days of trying everything could not get Air 2 to recognize P4 as a P4.