Wanted: a waterproof Phantom

Reaction score
I'm dismayed by the growing number of crash reports into water. Having plowed my own Phantom into a river (miraculously, it somehow survived) I have now become quad-hydro-phobic!

I also live in an area of abundant wetlands, rivers, and other enticing bodies of water. In fact, I got into this hobby for the express purpose of photographing the wetlands next to our cabin. And now, having evaluated my bumbling progress as a pilot, I find that I'm very reluctant to venture over anything deeper than a mud puddle.

Which leads me to ask... is it possible to transplant most or all of the Phantom's working parts to a waterproof frame? Or should I sell the Phantom and take the plunge, so to speak, for an off-the-shelf "aquacopter" style quad? Money is definitely an issue, as I have accumulated lots of bits, bobs, and batteries and would rather use them in another quad than try to sell them off at a loss.

Suggestions?

BruceTS: I watched the Liquipel video and was quite intrigued. In order to make the Phantom waterproof, however, I think you'd have to seal the shell's top and bottom halves together, which obviously isn't practical. I would try Liquipel for rain and high humidity protection, perhaps with some kind of breathable (Goretex?) material over the Phantom's air vents.

The Aquacopter frame looks good, even though switching out the battery might be something of a pain. I'm surprised that they don't have a better, quicker way to access the interior.

I haven't seen any reports of transplanting Phantom components directly to an Aquacopter.

GearLoose said:
...having evaluated my bumbling progress as a pilot, I find that I'm very reluctant to venture over anything deeper than a mud puddle.