Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Walkera Gimbal Power

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by danielnorris, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. danielnorris

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I tried finding the answer to this in other posts about this Gimbal but wasn't able to figure it out. I just ordered the Walkera G-2d Gimbal for my FC40 and was wondering if there are any simple solutions for powering it that don't involve opening up the quadcopter. Is there a specific LiPo I could get separately? Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is my first gimbal and I am after a quick plug and play solution to start with. Thanks!
     
  2. Molokai

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    29
    Just use a cheap, small 3S 11.1v lipo to power it.
     
  3. danielnorris

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would you mind shooting me a link to some specific ones? What size would be best? Thanks.
     
  4. PsychopathRC

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London, England
    The smallest, lightest one, lol
     
  5. Fuji-Flyer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern UK
    Hi really the power connection from the FC40 is really easy. As you will see from Youtube videos there is a spare power cable lying in the FC40. So you just need to connect the Walkera supplied power cable to this and bingo no additional weight. Connection of the Gimbal control is a little harder as you need to enlarge one of the holes in the FC40 to allow the NAZA plug entry but with a small file and care it only takes a few mins. Note its worth making sure you know the position of the props when you take them off so you can replace quickly. Adding batteries is really not required when there is power available.
     
  6. danielnorris

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    But don't I need to solder it together? The power cable in the FC40 is just a bare wire right? Anyways had trouble with a stripped screw so trying to avoid opening the Phantom of the time being. After something that will get me flying quick.
     
  7. landwomble

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Power it off the battery balance connector.
     
  8. danielnorris

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    But will that just simply reach the gimbal's cable? Or do I need an extension?
     
  9. houldsworth1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    15
    I pulled the power cable down from the leg, soldered on a JST connector (http://www.ebay.com/itm/191129830295?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT) and was up and running in no time. You could just use wire connectors or even twist them together if your soldering skills are that bad. Once powered the Walkera tilt and roll can be set by simply adjusting with the supplied screwdriver on screws V1 and V2.

    I too have a habit of stripping threads. But I eventually wanted to open it up so that I could fit the one wire needed (F2 bottom to PIT) to control the tilt while in flight. This, of course, meant opening both the phantom and the controller. Despite my history of stripped threads everything went smoothly and I am now very happy with the setup.

    Good luck and ping me if you need more info.
     
  10. danielnorris

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I managed to pull the power cable out from inside the Phantom but now misplaced the power cable that goes to the Walkera Gimbal. Was going to order a JST connector. Is the power plug a standard type of plug on the gimbal or do I need the specific one that came with the gimbal?
     
  11. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    hi there guys I have been reading this page with interest because I have
    been thinking about a gimbal and cheap hd cam but I am not technical
    minded and am looking at what is involved to make my mind up
    what kind of flight range are you guys getting without adding stronger transmitters for wifi?
    I only ask because I get 350m with the fc40 cam the now and these hd cameras are nice but not
    for fpv. I would like nice quality in videos because it always windy here and pants lol
    but I don't want to sacrifice the fpv and how much less flight time do you get with having
    a gimbal and bigger camera on? 8-9 minutes?
    thanks in advance for any info guys :)