Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Walkera g2d power question

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Unicyclejunkie, Jul 3, 2015.

  1. Unicyclejunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    St. Augustine, Florida
    I see that the power connector for the walkera won't connect to the balance plug on the regular phantom 1 battery.

    I have a power connector from a burned up cheap chinese gimbal that fits the battery, can I splice it onto the walkeras red/black wires? I don't feel like taking apart the phantom yet for the pitch control or to power it that way yet.
     
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Doesn't your bird have a couple power leads hanging out the hole at the top of the right front landing gear? You could hook up to that. Might want to test it first, make sure it's 12 volts.

    I don't see any reason you could not do what you suggest. Just make sure you are getting the proper voltage to your gimbal.
     
  3. cheebs

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    71
    I found out through trial and error that you don't really need the power connection to operate the gimbal. The Naza will provide power through the pitch control servo lead.
     
  4. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I use a separate 7.4 850 ma battery from a small quad I have. It has the same JST connector as the lead on the G2D. You could probably even use a 9 volt battery. The aux power lead from the phantom is in one leg corner. There is enough sticking out to grab and pull out some without taking the quad apart..
     
  5. Unicyclejunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    St. Augustine, Florida
    It does, but unfortunately they're not hanging out. There's maybe like .1mm sticking out :p. So I guess I'd have to take it apart. If I did do that do I just splice the wires together?
     
  6. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Do what Monte55 just said, give it a little pull, they should come out a couple inches. Peek inside from the battery opening if you need to cheat a little.
     
  7. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Yep, just splice them together... AFTER you figure out which one is hot, should be RED HOT.
     
  8. Unicyclejunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    St. Augustine, Florida
    Ok awesome! I just used some tweezers to get them out.

    So before I do this I'll just confirm, cut off the red jst to the walkera, splice them, red to red black to the gray wire coming out of the Phantom? And then when i plug in the battery all should be good?
     
  9. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Remember to have your quad level when powering up the gimbal. Once it settles down, pitch and level can be adjusted with the little plastic screwdriver with pots V1 and V2
     
  10. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Get a fire extinguisher and have a phone handy. I've heard of gimbals going crazy and scratching fingernail polish a little.

    If you elevate your Phantom by putting each landing gear on a book, of equal height, the gimbal won't keep banging into the ground and freaking out.
    The gimbal needs the camera in place to balance itself.

    Don't forget the shrink tubing.:eek:
     
  11. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Good point. I also suggest balancing the camera in gimbal with no power. I have the Gopro 3 white. I had to tape a nut to the battery side of camera to balance better. I also have the camera upright.
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  12. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Another good point Monte55. Some of the simplest stuff never crosses my mind. Balance the camera on the gimbal before adding power. No wonder my gimbal has to work so hard to keep up, I start out listing to port. Duuh... o_O

    I have my GoPro upright as well. Gonna try flipping it over and see if it balances better on my cheap Chinese gimbal.
     
  13. Unicyclejunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    St. Augustine, Florida
    Got it all figured out. Looks a bit ghetto with electrical tape but I know nothing about soldering nor have a soldering gun. It works well now.. I wish I had wired my cheap chinese gimbal like this. It wouldn't be dead. I tried to connect it to my battery and it was a bit dark, and the leads just barely connected and only for a millisecond and it was dead.


    Cant wait to test it and see if it vibrates as much as the cheap chinese gimbal
     
    Thiago Pereira and IflyinWY like this.
  14. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Walk around with it powered up. Or sit at the table and put the bird the normal flight attitudes. You don't have to fly to test it's performance. Chase the cat around the house with it running without props. The motors will go crazy though, trying to maintain it's position at start.
    Maybe not such a good idea about the cat.

    Glad to hear you've got it squared away. Some crimp connectors might be a good idea.
     
  15. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    The motors don't even need to be started. Sup widdat
     
  16. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Thanks Nick, you're right and I don't want to scare the new guy too much.

    Here's how my mind works:
    Powered up = plugged in.
    With it running = motors started.
     
  17. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I gotcha yer back
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  18. Unicyclejunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    St. Augustine, Florida
    Yeah it's so much easier. I was so used to having to plug in the other gimbal.


    Went on a test flight already, 2 actually. Can't see much(because it's 11pm) but overall it seemed to be working okay. I can see the camera rolled a few times because I yawed quickly, but it straightens itself out eventually. I can also see there was a tad bit of vibration certain times during the videos. I'll balance it tomorrow while it's off like you said.

    One cool thing is now I can turn on my blue lights I have on it while the gimbal is running.

    Thanks a lot for the help guys!
     
  19. Niknok

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    I installed my walkera G-2D on my Phantom 1.1.1 and the connector for the pitch (3- wires) actually provided power
    for the gimbal. Is this ok or do I still need to connect the dedicated power connector? Please advice, thanks in advance!
     
  20. Thiago Pereira

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bring this post back from the dead... @Unicyclejunkie, still reading this? I've got a question...