Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Walkera G-2d wiring after small fire.

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Joesrevolution, Nov 22, 2014.

  1. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Hi guys. Feeling a bit stupid having to ask this question as it was my ignorance causing this. Basically I have recently tried to install an immersion vtx and ezosd tuning of my go pro on a gimbal. The problem arose when I connected everything together. I have two jst connectors on the aux power lead from the quad powering the gimbal and vtx. When I went to fire it up the first time this wire burst into flames and I very quickly pulled the plug. My guess is that the immersion wanted power at a too high voltage than the wire could supply? I have since switched to the ezosd voltage sensor power out for the vtx. Was just wondering if instead of replacing the aux power can I just wire the gimbal into an esc? Which would be much simpler to do....I know I always should of just ran the vtx from the osd but decided against it for some reason... Thanks in advance!
     
  2. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Yes, the ESC power input is directly hooked up to the battery connection.
     
  3. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    Check very carefully for shorts or wrong polarity, because the VTX pulls fairly low current - less than 1A, so it would not cause a fire on even the thinnest piece of wire if working correctly.

    I would not suggest just connecting it up to a large supply without working out what is wrong and correcting it first.
     
  4. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    I'd solder a couple leads to the board's main power supply and put a fuse inline with the + wire as close to where you tapped in as possible. You can then run whatever you want off that. Use some sort of fast acting 1A or 2A automotive style fuse to protect that circuit. Get a fuse holder for it and find a way to externally mount the holder and fuse so you can easily get to it in case it blows. Get creative with it.
     
  5. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Cheers guys! All sorted now. Luckily for me it was a short as the first thing I did after this problem was pull the wire out and boot the quad up to make sure it wasn't dead. Replaced the wire with one designated for the gimbal. Run the vtx from my osd now too. Have managed to replace the aux lead now too.
     
  6. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Nice. I still think you should seriously look into fusing any wire that comes off the main board.
     
  7. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Why? Is it quite a common thing for these to short?
     
  8. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Depends on the installation. Things rub together, short out and cause fires like you just experienced. Stuff happens.

    I like to do things safely. If you had a fuse inline with your accessories nothing would have caught fire. The fuse would have blown, you would have lost video and gimbal control instantly after firing it up and that would have been that. No fires, burnt fires, or anything.

    But to each their own. Glad you found your problem. Happy flying.
     
  9. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Fair play. Thanks for the advise. I'll look into fusing it. I guess it would go on the vcc line?
     
  10. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    I mean, it's not necessary, since I'm sure there are hundreds of unprotected phantoms flying around just fine. But I like to err on the side of safety.

    Probably the nastiest example I can give you about fusing is of a car audio install where the owner did in fact fuse the power wire, but he installed the fuse about a foot away from where it hooked into the amplifier. That fuse did him no good when the insulation on the power wire was rubbed through by the hack job he did to his firewall, which ended up starting a fire in his engine bay because the wire from the firewall back to the battery must have turned cherry red and caught whatever plastic it was touching on fire.

    Pretty mean what an 800 cranking amp battery can do with 4 gauge wire.

    As far as which wire to hook the fuse into, it'll be whichever one is the positive leg. More than likely the red wire. That's the one you want to fuse as close to the power tap as possible.
     
  11. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play

    :D Great idea, thanks for sharing :D