Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Waiting for FC40 to arrive

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by ace5000, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. ace5000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    I am new to this forum and am looking for some start-up tips to get on my feet when it arrives in a couple days.

    What I know so far is:

    Transmitter calibration
    Compass calibration
    Firmware setup - return to home and IOC changes?

    Is there one comprehensive guide somewhere I could go by?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Kwas

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny SW Florida
    The best thing to do is read a lot of the posts here. Everything will make more sense when you get the quad and put you're hands on it. When you get it read and reread the instructions. Not just the first time you fly it but every time you fly it, if the lights don't look right, don't fly it, recalibrate it and everything should be fine.
     
  3. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    read the manual
    read it again
    then to be sure to read it again.

    when it arrives, charge everything

    DO NOT put on blades

    Calibrate the compass

    Start the motors

    read the manual again.

    go somewhere with plenty of space, no trees, power lines, people, building etc.

    calibrate compass

    put on blades and fly.

    then go home and read the manual on the bits you forgot about.

    enjoy.

    then buy lots of extras
    then some more
    a few more

    probably then an upgrade or 2
     
  4. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Forgot to say.

    The manual does not explain home lock correctly or the record function on camera.
     
  5. ace5000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

    Please explain the home lock and camera setup if you would please.
     
  6. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out YouTube as there's tutorial videos on all of the FC40 functions. It helped me a bunch. I'd advise to go ahead and do the firmware update. Pretty easy to do and I'm stupid when it comes to the computer stuff.
    I've found this forum is very active and offers the best Phantom tips.
     
  7. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun

    Hone lock is very important as it establishes your start point (home) before you fly.
    Assuming you have read the manual and done compass calibration.

    With the drone powered up and on a flat surface away from any metal objects (also don't touch it during this time)
    Watch the big LED on the back, this will go through a series of flashes.
    After about 30 seconds to 1 minute you will hopefully see a very rapid set of green flashes (about 20).

    This confirms home lock, don't be tempted to fly before this.


    -

    The camera instructions are also incorrect, you do not need to press the record button on the camera, all functions can be done via your phone and the fc40 software installed on your mobile device.
     
  8. ace5000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I have to make changes in the firmware?
     
  9. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    No

    Mine had latest firmware installed.
    The only time I made changes is for changing the right flick switch functions, activating left flick switch and finally activating gimbal output when i fitted motorised gimbal.

    It is worth checking the fail safe settings and the distance limits with the nazam software.
     
  10. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    I just ordered a new FC40 for a neighbor, so this is a nice refresher course.
     
  11. ace5000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I thought the return to home function had to be activated or something...
     
  12. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    I don't remember setting mine, I think it was on by default.
     
  13. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Its on by default (or at least should be, check in software).

    But I activated it on right switch.

    What i was referring to was the home lock, do not fly until you get the 20 green flashes.
     
  14. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 20 green rapid flashes towards the end of the start up light sequence?
     
  15. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    yes that is home lock.
     
  16. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if it just flashes like 8-10 times?
     
  17. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    not home lock
     
  18. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if you turn the RX to return to home it won't come back, correct?
     
  19. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    ehh ?

    if you switch off your tx or flick the rth switch it comes home (as long as you got home lock first.
     
  20. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry as I wasn't to clear.
    If i don't get the 20 green flashes just 8 or so it won't RTH when I enable it(turn RX off)?