Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

VPS or Not?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Claydoc911, May 20, 2015.

  1. Claydoc911

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hi Guys,

    VPS... When to use it and when not too.

    Ideas?

    I'm reading that most seem to be turning it off... Why?

    Just got my PH3A yesterday. [​IMG]

    Thxs

    Chris
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Some claim a vps error which causes erratic behavior. Others not. I've never had one and it's always on. Basically the stance is if you're outside, its not worth the risk, so turn it off.
     
  3. Kingfish28

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84
    I've left mine on, no issues.
    Watching it follow the contours of the ground is impressive.
     
  4. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    I'll give it a try when I receive my P3P and if any issues, off it goes! Seems like inside is the most common use...
     
  5. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Mine turned off, flew first 4 flights with vps on and 6 with it off with no issues, i read about possible vps errors so decided to turn it off as i never fly indoors or low to the ground so not needed. Besides the space where the sensors are is where my tracker is going.
    Always hand caught, vps on and off and no problems.
     
  6. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    Agree, but now I may be putting my tracker on the camera guard I ordered from UAV-Bits
     
  7. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    It's a indoor thing.
     
  8. Claydoc911

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    27
    "Follow the contours of the ground" ?

    Wow! How does it do this? I thought it was to keep a visual position lock?

    Thxs Chris
     
  9. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    I'd be doing the same but as i'm in the uk i'll have to wait until they are available to us along with a lens cap. :(
     
  10. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Ditto, a perfect spot for my Trackimo
     
  11. Kingfish28

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84

    The camera does position lock, but the sonic sensors are used to keep a constant height from the ground.
    Try it like in your driveway or something similar, hover about 3-4' and just fly up an incline/decline, it will keep the same ground distance.
     
  12. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    Wouldn't the VPS give you better information in an auto landing? All mine have been really smooth with VPS on and auto landing. I have started to hand catch, but the landings have not been bad at all. Although I mostly land on concrete instead of grass
     
  13. Kingfish28

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84

    Yes, you can think of VPS as the finesse sensors for height.
     
  14. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    Ok, this may account for the rough landings some are having if they disable. Otherwise, you are only using a barometer for altitude when VPS is disabled. Mine have been very smooth. I'll say that again. VPS has it's purpose
     
  15. dataway

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Southern California
    I also just keep mine on all the time and have not had any issues at all...and I think it stabilizes it more when I come in for a landing...
     
  16. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    My landings without VPS have been soft, but I'll try with it next time I fly.
     
  17. Kingfish28

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84
    Manual landings, or auto-landings?
    VPS won't have any change to a manually controlled landing.
     
  18. boludo

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    34
    Has anyone tried vps on low flying over water. I know the manual mentions water as inconsistent feedback or something like that.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  19. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    That, I wouldn't do. I wouldn't fly less than 15 feet over water anyways.
     
  20. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Good point. It was manual. That should be cool for auto take off too then.