Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Vortex Ring state - P3P - things I try to mitigate it...

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by MoOriginal, Dec 31, 2015.

1. MoOriginal

Ive read the threads about it not really affecting P3P through the anecdotal comments of members here.

I have a question as to my practice.

When I descend fast - I always try to put a yaw into the p3 so in other words its spinning as it comes down..
    I just thought that this might help mitigate the wash that im dropping into..
    Im no engineer, so is this not doing anything useful...?

I also sometimes descend with a slight pitch forward or back - this would help move the p3 out of its wash as it descended.

Thoughts please from the wise

2. Adil J

Rotating it won't do much, however tilting side to side or forward and backward will definitely help!

3. alokbhargava

I usually get it straight down or even RTH gets it down straight. I never noticed any issue so far. Lowering down is also a controlled action and P3 doesn't freely drop.

#3 alokbhargava, Dec 31, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2015
  4. RedHotPoker

The canted motors helped eleviate the dreaded death wobble...
    It's a thing of the past, & not a current gremlin.

RedHotPoker

BigAl07 likes this.
  5. MoOriginal

Can I ask then. What about with propeller guards installed?

6. RedHotPoker

You should be fine.
    If you should ever see any wobble just give a little right stick input, and provide the bird some forward travel. There is nothing to be concerned about, just go enjoy...

RedHotPoker

Jay H likes this.
  7. Jay H

If you take a close look at the motors, youll notice that all of the motors are on a tilt. Dji did that on purpose to prevent the VRS.

8. Meta4

Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

Without prop guards = no problem
    If you feel you have to use prop guards, use a little caution in a fast descent.
    There was a crash last week that sounds a lot like VRS. It was a P3 with prop guards.