Vortex Ring state - P3P - things I try to mitigate it...

Reaction score
Ive read the threads about it not really affecting P3P through the anecdotal comments of members here.

I have a question as to my practice.

When I descend fast - I always try to put a yaw into the p3 so in other words its spinning as it comes down..
I just thought that this might help mitigate the wash that im dropping into..
Im no engineer, so is this not doing anything useful...?

I also sometimes descend with a slight pitch forward or back - this would help move the p3 out of its wash as it descended.

Thoughts please from the wise

Ive read the threads about it not really affecting P3P through the anecdotal comments of members here.

When I descend fast - I always try to put a yaw into the p3 so in other words its spinning as it comes down..

I also sometimes descend with a slight pitch forward or back - this would help move the p3 out of its wash as it descended.

Rotating it won't do much, however tilting side to side or forward and backward will definitely help!

I usually get it straight down or even RTH gets it down straight. I never noticed any issue so far. Lowering down is also a controlled action and P3 doesn't freely drop.

Last edited:
The canted motors helped eleviate the dreaded death wobble...
It's a thing of the past, & not a current gremlin.

RedHotPoker

Reactions: BigAl07
You should be fine.
If you should ever see any wobble just give a little right stick input, and provide the bird some forward travel. There is nothing to be concerned about, just go enjoy...

RedHotPoker

Reactions: Jay H

If you take a close look at the motors, youll notice that all of the motors are on a tilt. Dji did that on purpose to prevent the VRS.

Can I ask then. What about with propeller guards installed?
Without prop guards = no problem
If you feel you have to use prop guards, use a little caution in a fast descent.