Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Voltage cutoff

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by Cajvol94, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    My first level seems to cutoff @3.78 to 3.8v. Can I drop that down to 3.4 or 3.5v? The Naza software is confusing to me for this option. Can't quite figure out what to load in the 3 option fields to make the cutoff at the lower levels. Anyone?
     
  2. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems to start blinking 5-6 min into flight. Safe to drop it?
     
  3. reALIGNed

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. Wisconsin
    test your batteries, they might be on their way out. 3.6 volts per cell is as low as I take mine, otherwise you can do irreversible damage.
     
  4. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    As reA says, you should test your batteries. If you can commit to landing as soon as you see the red flashes, you can drop level 1 to 3.6 or 3.5 loaded on most batteries. Note that this doesn't leave you a lot of time at all (like, 30 seconds to a minute) before it drops to 3.3 or 3.4, which is dangerously low for a multirotor.
     
  5. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota

    Depending on what your bird is loaded with. If gimbal, FPV, camera etc... you can TRY setting your warning levels at 10.8 first level & 10.6 second level but watch it & time it. The symtoms if you went to far will be - you might see a red flash occassionally then Phantom will wobble, usually a yaw to one side or the other, then she''ll spin & drop.
     
  6. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    So regardless where it's set the 2nd level cutoff is set at a voltage you can change. So messing with the 1st level warning won't add total flight time correct?
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Correct, that one just affects when the LED warning starts blinking at you
     
  8. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks I'll just leave it alone as I was hoping to accomplish more flight time. I'll just buy a 2700mah lipo :) and upgrade my props when I wear out the cpl sets I have.