Visiting the State Fair

Reaction score
We drove to Springfield to the State Fair on Friday. We were going to see Steely Dan at the racetrack stadium. I had to keep this at a pretty high altitude as I didn't want to attract a lot of attention, but I still did. You see the racetrack where the bandstand was set up. From the sky the fair looks a lot smaller than when you are walking thru it. I wanted to do a low run thru the main street, but a guy comes up to me and says, “Do you know we are right next to an airport?". No I didn't, I'm from out of town. "Well I'm a pilot out of that airport and you are not allowed to fly here". I told him I'm bringing it right down and thank you for letting me know. So that was the end. Don't understand why the 'No fly zone' feature on my phone app didn't prevent me from flying?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fRZ-VoVsF80

Eh, I wouldn't be flying over crowds of people with a toy Quadcopter, it's being said time and time again to not do it. If it for some reason lost control and fell outta the sky and hit a bunch of people there'd be some huge issues.

Only major airports seem to be programmed into the DJI software. Our local airport has no restrictions for my P2V+. Just have to be aware if you fly anywhere nearby.

I just read an article recently of someone flying over a big concert venue for one of the big festivals. Apparently the FAA got involved and gave the operator a slap on the wrist and a training session on the rules, regulations and laws regarding drones.

Be careful!

quality control said:
I just read an article recently of someone flying over a big concert venue for one of the big festivals. Apparently the FAA got involved and gave the operator a slap on the wrist and a training session on the rules, regulations and laws regarding drones.

Be careful!