Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Vision Props on a V1 Phantom.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NCHoytArcher, Nov 8, 2013.

  1. NCHoytArcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just ordered a set of Phantom Vision props to try on my Phantom V1.3. I'm just wondering if anyone has tried these yet. I will post my impressions once I get them.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
     
  2. netphreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are awesome. That is all.
     
  3. NCHoytArcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha. Cool. Were you able to find a way to balance them?

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
     
  4. cczx14r

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been waiting for an outlet that has them available for purchase. Where'd you order yours from, may I ask?
     
  5. laselvasurf

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    14
    Could someone elaborate on the exact pros (I've heard better flight time?) and any cons? I'm very interested in this as well, but would love more info before placing an order.
     
  6. miskatonic

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a set on order. They are around $30 so that is not a bad price point for what they promise. It looks like they have a larger wing surface and that means more lift. They are also self tightening which means no need for prop nuts.

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1013324-REG/dji_part3_phanton_2_self_tightening_propeller.html
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
  8. PJA

    PJA

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
  9. NCHoytArcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am hoping that these props are at least a small part of what's helping the vision to get its 20 minute flights. I am flying a naked phantom right now but plan on putting the gopro and an fpv system on it within the next month or two.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
     
  10. laselvasurf

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    14
  11. diomark

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... But does the self tightening props work on the original phantom?

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
     
  12. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    If your prop nuts all turn in the same direction I do not think the new props will work. I think you have to have the newer version Phantom that came with 2 cw and 2 ccw rotating prop nuts.
     
  13. diomark

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0

    Bummer:(

    Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
     
  14. Dave Pitman

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula USA
  15. NCHoytArcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the V1.3 phantom so these props will work. The battery price on the Vision is a deal breaker for me. Its a good thing it gets 20 minute flight times, because I'd only have one. But 150 ÷ 20 = $7.50 per minute. 30 ÷ 10 = $3.00 per minute. I've got 5 batteries for my Phantom, for the same as one for the vision. I'll stick with what I have.

    But anyways, does anyone have any idea how to balance these props? Will the self tightening lugs possibly come out of the props? I can't wait to try them out but I want to balance them.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
     
  16. socman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    silly question, but how do you see what version phantom you have?
    have to log into the software?
     
  17. Dave Pitman

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula USA
    Look at the sticker on the side of the box.
     

    Attached Files:

    • aa.jpg
      aa.jpg
      File size:
      62.6 KB
      Views:
      765
  18. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    What if you do not have the box??
     
  19. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    if you have 2 black and 2 silver lugs that hold your props, you can use the vision props. if you don't, you need two of the black lug motors.
     
  20. Daninho

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Germany - Darmstadt
    its also written on the phantom