Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Professional Vision positioning question

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Brandonb0717, Mar 25, 2016.

1. Brandonb0717

i bought a p3p off of eBay for a decent deal..everything looked legit as far as the description pictures and seller ratings, but I received my p3p today and noticed that there's 2 gray cables coming from the gimbal..the one that is supposed to plug into the vision positioning isn't plugged into it, and after looking closer there is nowhere to plug it into..nothing looks damaged or broken so I'm wondering what that cable is for and if it's safe to fly without it..any help would be appreciated

**i had a phantom 1 before I bought this, so the whole gimbal thing is new to me**

2. flpholt

did you due a imu on level surface

3. Brandonb0717

I'm not 100% sure what an imu is (sorry I'm a rookie) but I just tried turning everything on without blades..control came on and I upgraded firmware..but wouldn't connect to the aircraft..when I first turned the drone on the gimbal rotated and then went stationary but after about 5 seconds went limp

4. Brandonb0717

I also just noticed on the dji go app that when I connect my rc it shows it as a phantom 4

5. Air Ontario

There are 2 grey multiwire plugs. One (wider one) comes from inside belly of drone to the large plug in on gimbal top. The short narrow grey multiwire goes from the small plug @ the gimbal top to the Vision Positioning plug in.

So a large and small plug in located on the gimbal and a small plug in on the vision position module.

6. Brandonb0717

That's what I was thinking, but there is nowhere to plug the short narrow one into on the vision positioning housing..Im not sure what's going on here..I may have got scammed

7. Air Ontario

Sounds almost like a combo of two different models.....

8. msinger

Approved Vendor

Did you buy it as new or used? Got a photo of the cables?

9. Brandonb0717