Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Vision plus range

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Fantomm, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. Fantomm

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello forum

    Just got a phantom 2 vision plus and I am havin some range issues.

    I have messed around with the ce and fcc selection and I believe I am not achieving much range.

    In an open area I am getting approx 200 meters in ce and approx 400m in fcc, this doesn't appear to be a great deal.

    Any suggestions or opinions please.
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It should go at least twice that if you maintain line of sight - even sparse trees near your take off point attenuate signal significantly.
    Antenna orientation is important as you get further away.
    It does seem different users get widely different results though.
    It would be good to try a different location well away from usual home to make sure you don't have any unexpected interference.
     
  3. Fantomm

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Thanks.

    This is the second one that I have had as the other was returned with a range issue, what do suppose the max height is as mine goes fail safe at 200m ish.
     
  4. Idbird

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    :eek: Have to ask, why to fly so high?
    Range can be set in the assistant, and varies based on many things. If you're losing control signal before wifi you might not have your transmitter antenna vertical to the bird. The point of the antenna is the weakest signal, so directly overhead isn't ideal.
     
  5. Fantomm

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just seeing what it can do at this point.

    Good tip re the aerial, I'll give it a go.
    Thanks.
     
  6. rbhamilton

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    13
    You can change the limits by running the DJI Phantom Vision 2 Assistant and go into the Limits:

    [​IMG]

    I'd suggest you enjoy things stock for a while until you are a great pilot. Then you will probably want to replace your antenna. I changed mine out for a TP Link 8dbi. That got me from the 500 - 800m range up to 1970m.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]