Vision Plus Camera vs GoPro

Reaction score
Hello,

I am about to buy something to fly with and take pictures/video with :) and after a bit of looking around I decided it can be something from DJI (but I guess I won't get much help in brand selection here :) ).

The problem is whether Phantom 2 (+ H3-3D + GoPro H3) or Phantom 2 Vision+.

My concern is mostly image quality. I guess GoPro optic is better, but VIsion+ has the ability to shoot RAW, so is the RAW format good enough? :) (I am a photographer, so I know what RAW means and what the benefits are, but I haven't been able to find any tests). So if you can provide some informations, opinions, experiences or even RAW pictures, it would be great :).

Also is there any way to transfer telemetrics with Phantom 2 (not Vision)?

Thank you :)

Lukis said:
Also is there any way to transfer telemetrics with Phantom 2 (not Vision)?

With a stock P2-H3D3 you get NO telemtry, no FPV, and no way to control the camera in the air. Before lifting off, you set the camera to video or interval photo, hit record, then fly. You have to hope you point the camera properly to get your subject in the frame. You have to land (or hover in front of yourself) to change the camera settings. You do get stabilized video of higher quality than the Vision+ if you go with the Hero 3+ Black GoPro. You will have to purchase additional components and modify the P2 to add FPV and telemetry capabilities. You can not add the ability to adjust the camera inflight as you do with a Vision+.

Thank you for your answer.

As far as I know, you can adjust the elevation of GoPro via H3-3D.

For FPV ofcourse I was about to purchase FatSharks, but I thought that you can transmit only the output from GoPro with no telemetry (altitude, speed,...).

Lukis said:
As far as I know, you can adjust the elevation of GoPro via H3-3D.