Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Vision camera limited movement

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Nilo80, Feb 24, 2015.

  1. Nilo80

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have the Phantom 2 vision. My camera started acting up today. It now has very limited movement up and down. When I try to tilt it in the app it doesn't point down near as far as it did and seems to point higher up towards the props in its highest position. Any ideas? Thanks
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,639
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Maybe the little screw is loose that holds the plastic cog in behind the plastic cover on side of camera .
     
  3. Nilo80

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Checked that screw and its tight.
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,639
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I had mine like that once and the dead rod on the other side had broke look there . If that not it I would look app settings and make sure you have FPV set to off and if that didn't fix it I would go in to assistant and reset my gimbal settings to default again and see if that helps .
    That's just what I would do ;)
     
  5. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    Did you upgrade Frimaware ? Use Vision Assistant, reset and calibrate gimbal using this panel:

    Edit: No Vision+ but Visio phantom. (wrong panel image deleted)
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,639
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    When hooked up to assistant this is the default settings . Click on picture
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Nilo80

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot for the replies everyone. I hooked it up to the assistant and the gimbal ranges are all on default. Still having the same trouble. It seems like the gimbal thinks the camera is in the down most position when it's only slightly pointed down and as I raise it in the app it only goes up until it hits on the top of the camera. It doesn't seem to be mechanical, rather something out of whack in the calibration.
     
  8. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,639
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    This might sound drastic but with the camera in the app pointed all the way down take and see if you can move the camera with your hand all the way down. I do mine when it gets out of sync as my little gear is worn. Don't force it but see if that helps. If it does then tighten that screw real good !
     
  9. Nilo80

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dirklod
    I did what you recommended and it seemed to work. I had to push fairly hard but it popped and then I could point it down as before. I'm not sure that it's working perfectly as I still hit the top of the camera just before I get to the top in the app but it's almost like it was before. Thanks a lot for the help. Hopefully I didn't break it!
     
  10. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,639
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Not sure what could have popped but I have to do mine like that at times as that plastic cog is worn.