Vision 2 fell from the sky

Reaction score
Ive only had the Vision 2 for about three weeks, and never had any problems. Last night, it just fell from the sky from about 150' and landed on the neighbors new Honda Accord and caused significant damage. The camera, gimbal, landing gear are trashed, and the insets for most of the screws have come out. I have no idea if will still works, but to be honest, I don't trust it enough to try and fly it again. WTF?? I still haven't told the neighbor about her car or gotten an estimate yet. Do I have any recourse? Am I without a drone, the $1000 I paid for it, and the money to fix the neighbors car? I'm 45 years old, and I've been building custom swimming pools for the past 25 years. The main reason for buying the DJI was to take pictures of completed projects. The only reason for flying it recently was for pilot training, and this happened before I felt comfortable enough taking it to a job site! Any advice or solutions to my problem would be greatly appreciated.

Mark

Start talking with DJI.
Were the LEDs on or off when it came down, do you remember? If they were off (dark), you had a battery failure or, more likely, a battery contact failure. And DJI has been known to replace rigs that crashed due to this issue. Don't count on it, but it's worth beginning the conversation. Might turn out to be fruitful, might not.

If the LEDs were on, you either had a motor/ESC go bad, or maybe you experienced VRS (you didn't mention if you were trying to descend, or how fast it actually came down). Probably not a whole lot DJI will do for you. But who did you buy it from? If it was a reputable dealer, they might replace it for you or at least give you some store credit.