video settings question

Reaction score
I'm new to the p2V+ and have had it for only 3 days. What are the ideal settings so that it doesn't do the fishbowl effect on the horizon like below? Also is it better for post production and/or overall quality to shoot in jpeg or raw? I'll be using Pinnacle 17 to edit video's once I learn it.

thanks!

Chris

metroplexchl said:
I'm new to the p2V+ and have had it for only 3 days. What are the ideal settings so that it doesn't do the fishbowl effect on the horizon like below? Also is it better for post production and/or overall quality to shoot in jpeg or raw? I'll be using Pinnacle 17 to edit video's once I learn it.

thanks!

Chris

Turn the FPV mode off in your phone app. FPV locks the gimbal. The camera should mimic the horizon when the gimbal is working.

Set to RAW (DNG), as it will save both in JPEG and RAW.

For fishbowl images and videos, look for lens correction FC200 filter. FC200 is the vision camera. Both have similar specs. The filter only works with photoshop though (I think).

You can manually adjust video if the application has lens correction. In adobe premiere CC, I set the lens correction curvature between -15, -20 depending if there are close ups of trees/telegraph poles.

Also, if you want less fisheye in your videos, you can shoot with the narrower FOV (as long as you're shooting 1080), which almost eliminates the fisheye entirely. Fixing it in Premiere if you shoot wide works, but the edges get a bit blurry. I usually shoot with the narrower FOV because rendering the optics correction seems to take awhile. I'd love to shoot in 720p at 60fps, but there's no option for the narrower FOV, so I rarely do.

Photoshop does have a lens correction setting for the pictures, as was mentioned.

Try 1080P with the Narrow FOV, you should be happier with that if you're looking to reduce the fisheye effect.