Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Video or Photograph

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by namnonac, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. namnonac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Shotts, Scotland
    Hi folks with the P3A if you are flying and recording video can you still take photographs or do you need to stop video recording first?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,980
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    You must stop recording first.
     
    namnonac likes this.
  3. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    change name to quickdraw
     
    namnonac and msinger like this.
  4. Railfan-Eric

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wish we could take pictures while recording. I miss good photo opportunities. Most phones nowadays let's you take pictures while recording video. Why can't we with these fancy expensive drones?

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
     
    namnonac likes this.
  5. yojo182

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    5
    You could extract a photo from the video.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    I sometimes extract photos from video (log color profile .mp4/.mov -> Final Cut Pro -> export to .tif -> Lightroom -> .jpg). The end result is quite good although the input isn't raw .dng.
     
  7. FFPM03

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can use the buttons on the controller. Not immediate but I can usually stop recording and snap a photo in less than a second.
     
  8. Railfan-Eric

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah i do that. it's just less resolution that way. i record in 1080p. my computer can't handle 4k so i don't bother recording in 4k. I have nothing to play 4k on anyways but my phone. I think my GS7 can take pictures in full resolution while i record in 1080p. I know my iphone 6+ did when i had one.
     
  9. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,526
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    True. Problem with that is now you have an obvious cut in the video that can't be covered up.
     
  10. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    I use to pull photos from vlc or power director but I get a better picture by just going full screen and taking a screen capture directly from the movie. You can even zoom in if needed with the magnifier. Simply hold left ctrl & print screen buttons at the same time, open paint - hit paste and its a better pic then the others.
     
  11. Railfan-Eric

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    exactly. when recording trains if i stop recording to take a picture of the locomotives passing then i ruin my video because then i won't have video of the locomotives passing so then it would be pointless to record the train.