Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Video of stills?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mark Picard, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. Mark Picard

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I'm up flying and I have my GoPro set to take only stills and no video, is there a way to make my FPV monitor show where I am in the sky for the photographs (via video)? Or can the GoPro show the stills through the monitor? I plan on using the 1 frame every 2 seconds or the 1 frame every 5 seconds. Thanks
     
  2. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
    Unfortunately the GoPro doesn't output video to the gimbal when the camera is in stills mode.

    I've requested that option be added via a firmware update. I have no idea if the feature is being considered.
     
  3. Mark Picard

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I was afraid of that! Kinda' makes doing panos hit or miss, and of course it sucks if you needed to get some stills and you can't see the copter! Maybe Go Pro should be made aware of this shortcoming? Thanks for your response.
     
  4. Ton4

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    Consider extracting frames from your video for panos.

    If you do 4k video it could work, even 1080 I guess...

    Its a pity the Ricoh Theta needs wifi, bit its low res anyway...
     
  5. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
    I have reported this to GoPro as a product improvement. It would help if more people made the request.

    http://gopro.com/contact-form
     
  6. Mark Picard

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will do.......