VIDEO of my PV2+ FLYAWAY and RECOVERY

Reaction score
Hello all-

I don't believe I posted this here and if so apologies in advance. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjHofl3UY1k

Recently had a flyaway of my PV2+ Morning launch, was going to get up and take a few pics of nice sunrise. Being an actual pilot I usually get a weather briefing including winds aloft prior to a flight so I have an idea as to what to expect. Even though surface winds might be dead calm, winds aloft can be an entirely different story - as they were in this case. Once I reached altitude I lost FPV. I had been having intermittent drop outs of the wifi but it was only on occasion. It usually took a few seconds to reset the wifi and back in business. Today when it reconnected the drone was not holding position and had been blown about a 1/4 mile away. Wifi cuts out again, reconnection is unsuccessful and drone is fast moving out of sight. RTH is initiated but visually I can see that the PV2+ is NOT RTH but still moving away. Within a minute or two it is out of sight over heavily forested area and I feel sick because of it. Wifi connects for the last time and telemetry tells me that battery is 10% and PV2+ is still at altitude and about a mile away from home.

I used the find my phantom feature which gave me the last known reporting point as a reference for starting my search. I was uncertain if the Phantom was 1) attempting to land 2) attempting to RTH 3) being carried by the wind

Assuming it was trying to RTH I searched a wide area from last known point TOWARDS home - no luck.
Using last known point I searched AWAY from home (further away from last known point) under the assumption the wind had carried it away and this is where I ultimately found my PV2+.
It was found 500-800 feet away from last known point. Initial damage assessment : two broken props/ camera ripped off but intact/ Gimbal arm bent/ battery ejected but recharged and working