Video link loss and choppy video

Reaction score
I'm a complete newbie to the quadcopter scene, so please bear with me.

I bought a DJI P3 Standard so my son an I could spend a little time together. We put it together tonight and took it for it's first flight. The flight part went great, except the thing would lost the video link between the camera and my phone after only 40 ft of altitude, straight above us. It was still recording....just no FPV to the phone. The light was fading, and upon examination of the video, I found that it was VERY choppy when rotating the bird, even fairly slow.

I'm hoping somebody is going to tell me that the video link loss is due to all the wifi routers here in our neighborhood. As for the choppy....strike that...massively jerky would better describe the video, I'm at a loss. I'm using the stock micro SD card that came with it, and we were recording in 2.7k. Is this possibly due to the low light conditions ? I'm planning on having another go at this tomorrow as soon as I get home from work, before I return this thing to Amazon. I can see SOME degradation of the signal due to local interference, but 40 ft straight up and then having total video signal loss every single time doesn't seem acceptable.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Welcome to the forum :)
Am new to the P3 also and had the bad video to start with . Changed my settings from 2.7 to this and that fixed that dirk.jpg
Seems I didn't have enough computer to process the higher .
As far as your distance issue make sure you are out of Beginner Mode .
Hope this helps and don't be so quick to send it back as the folks in here are the best
and if it's just setting issues someone will help you :)

Thanks for the replies guys. I took your advice dirkclod and turned the video down to 720p. That got rid of 99% of the chop/jerking. I think I'm in the same boat as you, and my laptop just doesn't have enough jam to process detail that high.