Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Video Guide: How to create a CAN-BUS port on Phantom v1

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DeweyAXD, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. DeweyAXD

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    So first of all I'm sure you've all seen this concept by now. I saw this posted on the FB page and had to try it. Seems a clever person worked out how to create a Can-Bus port on the upgrade board on a Phantom 1 (fitted as stock on v1.1.1).

    First of all: IT WORKS!!

    I have done a step by step video because:

    a) I really wanted to try it out
    b) there wasn't one i could find on youtube.

    Anyway heres the vidoe:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1nq44GDkOc[/youtube]

    The process really isn't as difficult as I thought it might (I'm not great at soldering but I guess I am used to it by now).

    The website this came from is here: http://www.sarawuth.com/2014/01/dji-pha ... -bus-port/ - full credit to them for this truly excellent hack/mod!

    Combine this with re-shelling the Phantom v1 into a Phantom 2 shell (see: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7017) and you really can get close to a Phantom 2 without being forced to use the P2 battery.

    EDIT - Added video of the actual soldering:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72nFMYndRXo[/youtube]
     
  2. DeweyAXD

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Update:

    Just tried out the iOSD Mini with this newley created DIY Can-Bus port and then connected the BTU through the iOSD port.

    All worked perfectly!

    A few pics:

    [​IMG]

    BTU Powered on and found

    [​IMG]

    iOSD doing what it does on my new 8" monitor (really nice!).

    [​IMG]

    Also fitted my Zenmuse FPV Undertray to see what mods are needed. It fits straight on (but I am using the original Zenmuse mount). Some mods needed if I want to use the P2 battery though as it won't be possible to access the lower clip due to the TX holder getting in the way.
     
  3. Bunger

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those pics of your bird look great - clean and well done!
     
  4. DeweyAXD

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Thanks Bunger. Really hoping I can get that clean FPV Undertray sorted for Phantom 2 owners over the next month now that I have the shell. Just a case of finding the time to re-design it.

    Video of the iOSD Test & BTU attached.

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPSUIxvpSos[/youtube]
     
  5. DeweyAXD

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Video added here and in top thread of how to solder the board:
    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72nFMYndRXo[/youtube]
     
  6. socman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is the fpv monitor you are using?
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Same one as this (just re-branded), which I have and love: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=1191

    Dewey might have a better source depending on where you live. The display on it is gorgeous and bright, the only drawback is that it doesn't have built-in receiver(s) or battery, so you'll have to connect/attach those separately.
     
  8. socman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry to derail this thread further...but are you able to use the goggles as a the receiver...do you know?
    or is it recommended to buy a separate receiver and such? Ive been using the attitude goggles, however i am finding at times I would rather be able to get a visual on the phantom itself...and only use the monitor at times...so am trying to figure out basically cost of doing a fpv monitor (with what I currently have).
     
  9. laselvasurf

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks for the how to! I will be using this to do this mod to my phantoms over the next couple weeks. Thanks!
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yes :)

    [​IMG]

    Your goggles should have come with a video-out cable, which will allow you to connect directly to a monitor, like option #1 in that diagram.
     
  11. DeweyAXD

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    ^
    ^ ^
    I
    I

    What he said ;) - My monitor was from www.firstpersonview.co.uk
    Really nice monitor (I actually needed it for other A/V work but it works great for FPV). I use my Fatshark Predator v2's as an RX. Gives you the best of both worlds.