Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Video Feed Cuts Out at 50'

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by TaurusM, Mar 5, 2015.

  1. TaurusM

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    Here's what I have:
    Phantom 2
    Futaba T8FG
    Flysight Monitor
    GoPro 3

    I bought this used and it was already set up. I know very little about these but have learned to calibrate compass, fly, take video. On the monitor, the screen gets fuzzy and I lose the feed once the copter gets about 50' away. I'd appreciate any advice on extending this range. Attached is a photo of how the antennae are setup. Thanks in advance.


    Taurus
     

    Attached Files:

    • P2.JPG
      P2.JPG
      File size:
      84.6 KB
      Views:
      167
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,625
    Likes Received:
    5,693
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Welcome to the forum TaurusM :)
    Not familiar with your TX but are you keeping your antenna pointed at The bird ?
    Does it have a preview quality that might be set to high ?
    Again I'm not familiar with what you have but sure someone here is and can help ya !
     
  3. TaurusM

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I keep the antenna pointed towards the copter. Here's a close up of the antenna setup (I keep the tx on the phantom pointed down when flying).
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,625
    Likes Received:
    5,693
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Me stupid when it comes to those but don't ya have em backwards ?
    TX = controller
    RX = quad
    I mean I don't know if it matters with those but :?
     
  5. Jacob

    Jacob Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    305
    Make sure you are on the correct band and channel on the monitor and that it corresponds with the TX. Just for clarification, the TX is on the Phantom and the RX is on the Controller/screen.
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,625
    Likes Received:
    5,693
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Thanks Jacob for clearing that up and hope it fix's your issue TaurusM ;)
     
  7. RichWest

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Maybe I'm off, but these are clover antennas and work best from a side orientation rather than directly pointed at each other....
     
  8. TaurusM

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replys. I have the Tx on the phantom and the Rx on the monitor. I believe the channel is correct because it is clear when the phantom is close and doesn't get fuzzy until about 50' away. Anything else I could try?