Video Editing With iPad Pro While Traveling

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and will be heading to the Yorkshire coast for three weeks in September with my new P4. I'm looking for some advice on whether or not I can get away with using an 9" ipad pro for photo and video editing instead of hauling my 17" Mac Book Pro with me? I use the Slice app on my iPhone for video editing but I'm not sure if it will be robust enough for larger footage. I've searched this forum but haven't found any specific information about this topic.

Many thanks.

Sorry everyone.... I should have posted this in photo and video.

Last edited:
I've done all my videos so far with an iPad Air 2 and iMovie with no problem. Granted, there are limited effects/transitions/speed/title/grading options, but for composition of simple videos, that combo seems to work fine for me.

The "Director" included with the DJI GO app can make decent little videos. With the iPad you'll need to download the movies from the drone to the iPad over the air and that can take a while and I don't think it works with videos shot in 4K. You can use the templates to create movies with music synchronized with scene cuts and it even lets you publish to social media. Not the best but it works ok.

I'm using iMovie on the iPad pro and then taking that rough cut to my desktop when I get back home.... It's been a very satisfying workflow for me.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I'm in a similar position. I'd have thought there would be an app by now that would allow slightly more sophisticated video editing than iMovie on the pro

You can do simple edits, my iPad 2 does not support 4k, if you are loading up iPad it will soon run out of space, when I take my holiday I will be taking a few cards for storage.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app