Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Video Editing Software

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by NADM, Jan 31, 2016.

  1. NADM

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    What is the recommended PC based video editing software for the higher quality video that I can pull off of the memory card. I am wanting to use this for professional use.
     
  2. kandelin16

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    47
    "Best" or "recommended" are rather arbitrary terms in technology, because there are so many options and it really depends on what your doing, but I like adobe premiere and adobe after affects.


    Sent from my iPod touch using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. Ralph M

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    If you are using a Windows PC, Adobe Premiere Elements is fairly priced and reasonably capable. If you go to the Adobe site, you can get a 30-day free trial.

    On a Mac, a lot of people just use iMovie, which comes free with it. If you are interested in professional video editing, there is Final Cut Pro X.
     
    SCGENE likes this.
  4. NADM

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am Windows PC based. Based on two recommendations I will check out Adobe Premier.
     
  5. Ralph M

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Just be clear - there are two versions of Adobe Premiere - Elements and Pro. Different levels of functionality, big difference in cost. Premiere Elements is often packaged with Photoshop Elements at an attractive price. See here:

    Amazon.com: Adobe Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 14: Software

    I think Premiere Pro is only available now on a subscription basis from Adobe.

    What weird about all this is that I am not a fan of Premiere in any flavor, but this is the third time I've recommended it to a PC user in the last week. I am a Mac guy and for both my pro and personal projects I use FCPX.
     
    #5 Ralph M, Jan 31, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016
  6. NADM

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Took your suggestion and purchased that combo. Seems like it will get me started after I learn it


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Ralph M

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    For consumer use, the combo of Photoshop and Premiere is pretty powerful. Separately, they give you the tools to do both photos and video; together, there a number of cool effects you can do. Good luck!
     
  8. ScopeTech

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    59
    Da Vinci Resolve is free for consumer, and extremely powerful. There is also a course on how to use it on Udemy and tons of tutorials on YouTube.
     
  9. Ralph M

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Yes, DaVinci Resolve is sorta free, but (speaking as a pretty competent FCPX user) it is a steep learning curve for someone new to video editing. Sure, NADM paid a few bucks for the Adobe combo, but he now has a couple tools that are well supported and capable of giving him decent results without a lot of brain damage. It is also worth noting that Photoshop and Premiere use similar processing concepts, so that learning one will help him understand the other.
     
  10. 304HighDrone

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Poca, WV
    Cyberlink Powerdirector 14, it processes really quick. Great for 4k and very easy to edit especially with the add on Colordirector.
     
  11. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ima have to check it out, I've been using premier pro, and right now it's set on a 2hour export for 2:40 of video
    I was about to try getting another machine, or would that not help?
    I'm using a surface 3 with 4gb ram
     
  12. 304HighDrone

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Poca, WV
    Read some reviews, you won't be dissapointed.
     
  13. 304HighDrone

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Poca, WV
    . I would say your slow processing speed is due to your machine.
     
  14. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yeah... I was afraid of that... Really don't want to invest another 6-800$ so quickly into this.

    What kind of specs for a machine would you recommend? I was told an i7 processor and 16g memory , :eek:
    In the last year I bought the surface3 an iPad mini and a acer tablet ... The acer was cheap but between those other two and the two drones, I feel like I got prostate exam without the drink first
     
  15. NADM

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    So I am a few days in. I am using the Adobe products and I am having fun with it. Processing and rendering is a little slower then I expected but not horrible. I am using an i7 with 12GB of ram which seems doable. This is my first time working with video, I have always been a photo guy so video is a whole new area for me.
     
    Fir3b1rd likes this.
  16. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Is an i7 going to be that much of an improvement over say a 2.5g i5?
     
  17. oakmeadows

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    U.K
    Cyber link powerdirector 14 for me


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. NADM

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am not sure the i7 is a huge improvement over the i5. I suspect RAM is a bigger issue, but cpu always counts.
     
    Fir3b1rd likes this.
  19. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    thank you, I was thinking the same thing.
    I'm running on 4g ram in my surface, I thought it was 8 so, I'm guessing doubing it in a new machine would be sufficient. between those two I cut a new machine price in half.
    feel much better about that.
     
  20. Hammer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Vancouver
    you need more ram