Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

**** Video Editing - HELP!! ****

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Elginet, Apr 19, 2014.

  1. Elginet

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
    My computer crashed. I lost 2 drives of photos and videos. I know....Wah Wah Wah..

    My son built me a new computer.
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-HD3
    128GB SanDisk U Plus SSD
    128GB Samsung 840 ProSSD
    2-DDR3 16GB 1600MHz DUAL C
    EVGA GeForce GTX780Ti SC

    Best of e best. I have amassed hours of video already from my new Phantom 2Vision Plus, but cannot get any of the major video editing programs to work! My mainstay for years has been Sony Vegas 10, unfortunately I lost that in the crash so I broke down and bought Sony movie maker 13.

    Can not get the program to run ....period...in 32 bit OR 64 bit.

    If we have any video editors out here, who might be able to shed some light on this, or maybe good alternative programs???




    HELP!!!!
     
  2. jimdenburg

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mukwonago, WI
    Sorry to hear about your crash (at least it wasn't your Phantom!). I know nothing about the Sony software but imagine there are forums out there. I would recommend looking into Adobe Premiere or Avid Media Composer. Adobe has the "pay as you go" plan with Creative Cloud for $50 to as little as $30/mo. for the first year, so you don't have to drop a ton of money on it right off the bat. I believe both Adobe & Avid offer 30 day free trial-periods as well.

    It didn't sound like you had a dedicated external drive for your media, or a back up. I would strongly suggest at least one but honestly you should get both. You can get a 2TB @ Walmart for like $100! 2TB! Good luck.
     
  3. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Try running it in vista compatibility mode, service pack 2 ... Or is it one... (Right click the exe file, select compatibility then select the os)

    Two ssd drives... For an editing system? Really? Use one for a boot drive, ditch the other, pickup a pair of external USB 3.0 drives (2tb or more, they are dirt cheap) buy two internal 4tb drives raid them for editing to. The external drives use as your media sources. Never use one drive for source and destination editing. Don't partition your media drives either.

    avid rocks, I'm an ACSRWin/Mac(or was for 5years) z, expensive certification to keep up. (Avid Certified Service Rep.)
     
  4. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Have you tried any file recovery utilities?
    You should be able to recover at least some of your stuff.
     
  5. lilwheat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran into the same problems with Sony Movie Maker and spent 2 weeks going back and forth with their online support to no avail. I was going to wait until they released a patch because I couldn't have been the only one having a problem. (Program installs fine, freezes on splash startup).

    I've been using Adobe Premiere and it works awesome. Pinnacle Studio is also easy to use.
     
  6. RedRyderMedia

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    31
    If you want something POWERFUL, but SUPER EASY.....I recommend editing on an iPad using Pinnacle Studio for iPad. If you want to continue to struggle with a PC, enjoy you Super duper PC. :)
     
  7. Elginet

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
    You can't edit a half-gig video file on an iPad.

    Yes, I had dedicated external drives as well for my photos and videos. One of the SSD drives is just a boot drive. The other was only going to be for Photoshop and Sony Movie Studio. I am an adobe member, and I'll probably end up springing for the CC. I was trying to resist it but I think it's inevitable now.

    That said.....the video coming out of my P2V+ is astounding! It's killing me that I can't put it out there!!! DJI Rocks! I just wish they'd have up'd the SD capacity to 64GB, Baby steps I guess, eh? :D
     
  8. RickF

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    I use Cyberlink's PowerDirector 12 and really like it. It's powerful and easy. Go to www.cyberlink.com and download a free trial version to see if it will work with your new computer. If it does, I think you will be pleased with the product.
     
  9. Elginet

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
  10. BMEWS

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire UK
  11. UrbanLegend777

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I crashed a laptop, was able to pull the two 500gb hard drives, order cases for them from Amazon, and use them as USB drives. I was also able to retrieve all photos and files from them. Worth a try!
     
  12. Elginet

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
    That's what I'm doing right now. The drive I backed everything up to is running Recuva from Piriform as I type. It's suppose to recover the folder structure as well as the files. I've used Stellar in the past and it would recover photos with no problem, but when you have 25-50k of them and it randomly numbers them as it recovers em, it's a bit of a pain.

    My main drive is FUBAR though. It site there an clicks 2 times....buzzs once and then nothing. That one WAS my C: Drive so that's the one I'm most concerned about.

    As far as Video editing.....I can highly recommend Adobe Premiere Pro now. After watching Lynda.com videos for 3 nights, I feel like a semi-pro.

    Thanks for all the help too you guys.
     
  13. Skydancer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got PowerDirector 12; it's very highly rated. But I am completely new to videos and have never used the software. So, this may sound like a stupid question, but would you be willing to list the basic steps, how to get the data from the Vision 2 + camera to the PowerDirector software? Do you connect your pc to the camera and then copy the files from the minicard to your pc? etc
     
  14. PhilAnderson

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Living In The Woods Of Beautiful Bonney Lake, WA
    Youtube is your friend. Just do a search on PowerDirector 12 and I'm sure you'll find lots of tutorials.
     
  15. Elginet

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
  16. Average.joe.rc.flyer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a procedure of hitting a drive on the side just right that sometimes overcomes your HDD issue enough to get the files off it. I've done it, and it worked, I've done it and made it worse... but worth a try. I too watched some videos on youtube for the correct way.

    I haven't edited videos in a long time. Decided to upgrade from movie maker to Adobes premier, photoshop elements and lightroom.
    I'm interested in the V+ RAW format option. Spent a lot of hours researching. I just wanted something simple, but that looks better than average. Also have some other photo slideshow projects.

    Was surprised to find out i had 25 thousand photos in my library. That's not counting movies. For backup i ordered a NAS box.

    I feel for you losing your movies/pics. I know some guys that store a HDD backup at a relatives house of their digital media... I doubt I'll ever go that far. But as mentioned in a prior post, a system with at least RAID 1 would be a good idea.
     
  17. mchad

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Another crazy thing I have done is leave a drive in the freezer overnight. I've gotten 5-10 min of use out of them before they start to go south again, then it's back in the freezer for another attempt.