Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Version 2.0 Compass removal

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Jeffro, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. Jeffro

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got my version 2.0. I have searched for 45 minutes with no luck on the compass removal. I'm installing wider landing gear, iosd mini, immerson 600, and the Zenmuse H3-3D. So I'm going to have to remove and rig this nice molded compass into gear that's not made for it. :cry: I have scoured the forum, You tube, and google searched without any luck. If someone can throw me a rope I'd appreciate it! 1) Removing the compass from the landing gear. 2) anyone elses suggestions on attaching it to the wider landing gear. Thank you !!!!! Jeffro from Illinois!
     
  2. RDCF550

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    USA, VA
  3. Jeffro

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    RDCF550,

    Thanks for the reply!! Well I had to dig into it and get it done tonight.So I was hard at it by the time you posted back but at least it looks like I kind of did it right!! (For a change!) LOL Thanks again!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. RDCF550

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    USA, VA
    You should extend the cable, so the thing is farther down the gear and mounted straight up and down like on the original landing gear. That much of at tilt is going to cause some issues.
     
  5. Jeffro

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks, I wondered about that. That is as far as the cable will go but I can shim it and square it up to make sure it sits straight up and down. That should work shouldn't it?
     
  6. RDCF550

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    USA, VA
    As long as you can square it up more than what it is there then it will work. Just don't use anything ferrous around it.

    Some connectors that could be use to make an extension cable are the..

    Header - http://www.digikey.com/product-search/e ... rds=WM1734

    Socket - http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/e ... -ND/242845

    Pins for Socket - http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/e ... -ND/467835

    Since the Compass board also has a connector on it, an entirely new cable can be made using 2 of the Sockets there instead of an extension. Personal preference really as to whatever method you choose, shim, extension or new cable, they'll all do the same thing.
     
  7. Jeffro

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    RCDF550,

    Your solution is probably a better one although it pushes my wiring abilities! Now that I think about it any thick glue or piece of plastic I put in there to shim it only recuces the ability of the compass to do it's job. I'll go to radio shack and get the correct parts for an extention wire. Thanks again!
     
  8. RDCF550

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    USA, VA
    A plastic shim wouldn't hurt anything, you just don't want anything metal around it is all. As long as it's as square as you can get it like it was on the stock gear it'll be as good as it can be. Be sure to recalibrate everything after messing around with it.

    I've ordered up some of the connectors to make a few extension cables up, as I already have the expensive crimpers for these PicoBlade connectors from another project awhile back.
     
  9. Jeffro

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I sent you a message!