Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. cistec

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI Guys

    I had shipped DJI Phantom 4 to AUstralia and just want to know if I can just use a cheap ($5) Aus to US adapter to charge batterires or do I need something else ...I assume the DJI power supply is internally regulated to accept Aus voltage and will work ...but just checking.

    Cheers

    cistec
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    You can probably just change the lead, or cut the plug off and fit your own.
    It copes with either voltage
    Either option would be better than an adapter.
     
  3. cistec

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks alot that helps.
     
  4. DroneLogic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the opposite issue in that I frequently bring electrical (Australian) electrical gear to the USA. Almost all chargers etc are universal and work on anything from 110 to 240v. So I just use a couple of adaptors to charge phones, cameras and computers. I'm sure the reverse is also true. The only devices that don't work are those that are either voltage or frequency sensitive. For example we once brought a travel iron to the US but at 115v it wouldn't heat up.
     
  5. tevek

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Yep, the only issues I have overseas are specifically rated voltage devices that don't work. As for the frequency concerns, Australia is 50Hz and a lot of places in Asia are 60Hz, not a problem for the universal voltage non-frequency dependent devices but sure as hell play havoc with anything that has a rotating component.
     
  6. cistec

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmmmm ok! I will do make sure I get the right adaptor ...I think I have sorted it out with another Drone user who has guided me to use a universal good quality adaptor which he uses with no problem.

    Thanks to all that replied. Its appreciated.

    cistec
     
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Buy 1 travel adaptor converter. Buy a USA 6xpower board. Use the adaptor on the power board. Now you can charge your laptop/phone/drone/DSLR etc. Just make sure all your devices are 110-240v.
     
  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It's just the charger has one of those 8 style leads which plugs in and you might already have a US lead in that style - since a lot of things these days have at least two alternatives included.
    When you have chance to charge things up adapter space might be taken up with outer stuff like phones.
     
  9. Tospa182

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I just brought a P4 back from USA to Aus and it works fine. Just change the cord that plugs int the adaptor. It's just a figure 8 cord. Get one from any old stuff you have laying around or get one from Jacar


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  10. Erised

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    340
    The dji charger is 50 hz or 60 hz and 120v or 240v, so it should be good
     
  11. PCHdrone

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just came back from the Cook Islands which uses Australian plugs and voltages. Everything worked fine. You should be good to go with a plug adapter. The power supplies used as switching power supplies and work with a range of voltages.
     
  12. cistec

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that sorted thanks Guys and to all that posted on this subject..Now gotta work out this Garmin GLO (GPS) for my Wifi only IPAD4.

    cistec