Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

using two phantoms at once

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bryce, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. Bryce

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    95
    Now that I'm going to be a double phantom owner because of my first stupid mistake... will my second stupid mistake be using two at the same time? (obviously different pilots) What type of interference should I be expecting? Don't they channel hope and it shouldn't be an issue?

    Long term, can I use one remote on the other or are they paired? Or does it only connect upon each bootup?

    Bryce.
     
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hey Bryce, welcome to the party.
    My signature contains a couple links you may find helpful.

    This would help us help you, what kind of birds are we talking about? P1, FC40, P2, P2V, P2V+, P3, P3P? See my point?
    Please include all pertinent info in each thread you start.

    Did you mean to say "Channel HOP"?
    Or, did you mean to say you "HOPE" they don't end up trying to use the same channel?

    And, why can't you fly both? LOL, just kidding.

    Seriously though, the more info you offer at the onset, the better help you will receive in short order. :D
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,759
    Likes Received:
    3,468
    You just have to rig a hands-free holder so you can strap on both controllers and away you go.
    An aerial take on the old one-man-band concept.
    Should be perfect for those great landscape photos where you need something in the foreground as a point of interest. Use a Phantom!

    The P3s should handle things better than you can.
    Two in the air together - no sweat.
    I want to try juggling with three!!
    [​IMG]

    Think of the potential for shots like this...
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Bryce

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    95
    That's what I'm looking for. So the channel thing isn't an issue with a phantom 3 advanced and phantom 3 pro. Also, are the phantom 3 controllers interchangeable?
     
  5. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    No issues with multiple phantoms. The control and return video signal will allow hundreds of channels.
     
  6. BlackHawk388

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    Point Washington, FL.
    The controller is bound to a given bird. Look in your manual for how to do this. Once bound, a controller shouldn't effect another controller.

    In other R/C aircraft, we almost always knew how to figure out what channel our controllers were using on a given frequency range. If we ever had any doubt, we would bring our respective aircraft together, either no props on them or engines not started for fuel powered craft, and each of us would move the sticks to make sure another aircraft wouldn't be affected.
     
  7. Clipper707

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I have flown 3 at one time. Two P1s and my P2V+. I launched #1 put it in a hover, than launched #2 and put it in a hover. Then #3 went up taking video of the other two.
     
  8. Atom1234

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have a friend that wants to fly his blade 350qx2 with our phantoms is that a problem?
     
  9. Bryce

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    95
    by they are saying, it sounds like it shouldn't be a problem at all.