Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Using the App while not connected to the phantom

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FASTFJR, Dec 20, 2015.

  1. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    South East PA
    Is their anyway around caching maps while not connected to the Phantom? I always find it a PITA the App will only work if the Phantom is connected to it. I would like to cache maps and do other things without having to turn my P3P on. Anyway to do it or am I just missing something?

    Thanks
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,237
    Likes Received:
    7,362
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    If you have an Android device, you can cache the maps in the Google Maps app. You must be connected to your Phantom if you want to cache them from DJI GO.
     
  3. Mutterranch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm noo also. My P3A arrives in two days! I will be using an iPad Air 2. You mentioned Android, do I need to use Google Maps as well. I have it installed.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,237
    Likes Received:
    7,362
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    For Apple devices, you should cache the maps from within the DJI GO app.
     
    FASTFJR likes this.
  5. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    South East PA

    Thanks, shame you can't doing without being connected to the Phantom
     
  6. Dadcat

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Portland Area, Oregon
    On my iPad Mini 2 on which I haven't updated the Go app since version 2.2.0, I can enter the app without connecting to the P3. I can also cache the maps in the app without being connected to the Phantom. The map persists even after force closing the app and powering the iPad off/on. Turn airplane mode on (wifi off) before reentering the app to avoid wiping the cache.

    On my iPhone 6 with the latest app version, I can't get into the app without connecting to the Phantom. That's an issue that has seemed to come and go randomly through various Go App updates.
     
  7. Larry L

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    I did it today. I flew 45 miles from home today. Last night, I opened up app on my iPad mini & clicked on the map, scrolled over to the area I was going to be at today. I showed up at the university I was photographing their stadium & the map was there.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Using App while Forum Date
How to record on the DJI Go app while using an iPhone 4 General Discussion Jan 21, 2017
Weird thing happened while using Litchi today Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Nov 5, 2016
Does the pause button work while using Litchi App? Phantom 4 Discussion Apr 25, 2016
IF your using apple Pro/Adv Discussion Thursday at 3:16 AM
Can I update my P3P without using the app/controller? Pro/Adv Discussion Tuesday at 1:02 PM