Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Using remote record buttons gives lower quality?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by marko1953, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. marko1953

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    I just watched a tutorial video from an Australian forum where the presenter says he gets better quality video if he uses the tablet/phone app record button rather than the actual button on the remote with the P3. Just wondering if anyone on here has noticed a difference. Here is a link to the video
    He explains it at 8:09 onwards
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    He may be right but can't say with full surety . I have been noticing good and slightly inferior shots and was unable to figure out the cause. I will now try his tricks to check if that was the reason of few bad shots.
     
  3. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Wow, that's very interesting. I will for sure need to check this out the next time I'm in the air. Thanks for posting.
     
  4. TheRealNick

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    109
    I definitely notice a delay if it is switching modes (between photo or video). I will have to try this...but man I can't think the signal sent the phantom via the RC is different between the two. But I could see how it could glitch out when switching between photo and video and get stuck with the wrong settings. I also feel like the delay is getting longer between photo and video....but that could be in my head...
     
  5. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    I would call it an urban legend. Both the buttons on the app and the RC give the same command to recording. Why would DJI deliberately worsen the quality if you use the RC buttons?
     
    GunnyPapa and Meta4 like this.
  6. marko1953

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    I tend to believe you, but I guess like everything else we should do our own testing. But this guy seems to believe it and even posts comparison videos (in the tutorial).
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  7. ELHEAPO

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Blighty
    I cant see how this could be true but im intrigued to have a play next time im out just to see if there is any truth in this theory!!
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  8. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Wonder what version of firmware this is on ?
     
  9. TheRealNick

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    109
    He talked in the video that it could be when you switch modes. When you are in photo mode and you hit video it starts differently than if you are already in video. I could see it performing better maybe if it was already in video mode. Without a mode change I can't think it would be different. He may have accidentally changed another setting too...
     
  10. TheRealNick

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    109
    Here are two videos where one had a switch from photo mode....which looks better? Check your YouTube settings to make sure they are the same for both...

    Example 1


    Example 2
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  11. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It's the same command, via two different buttons.
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  12. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    He seems quite convinced - will have to try it!
    This point in video. 8 minutes in.
    His example looks seriously bad though, definitely not seen that and usually use controller buttons.
     
    #12 4wd, Jan 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2016
  13. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    It looks like the lighting changed. Are you sure the difference is caused by using the app or the RC recording button?
     
  14. ELHEAPO

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Blighty
    DJI arnt going to bring out such a high quality product that enthesis's video and picture quality(albeit not the best) but certainly not the standard the OP recorded where by the quality of picture recorded depends on whether you use the buttons on the RC or the app on your device. I use both when i record footage and never experienced any difference in quality!!
     
    dhsprogis and rene van der meer like this.
  15. ELHEAPO

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Blighty
    I definitely agree with you the delay is getting longer mine is about 2-3 seconds bloody ridiculous!!
     
  16. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    If you are shooting several photo's in RAW mode, it will take some time to store the data on the SD-card. That could explain the delay.
    But this was not the original question: is there a difference in quality if you record using the App or the buttons on the RC?
    It looks like there is no difference, as we expected.
     
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    They certainly wouldn't "deliberately" worsen quality. Same as they didn't deliberately code the recent battery issues. Same as they didn't deliberately code VPS issues, horizon issues and drift issues to name a few from prior FW.

    However unlikely this report seems to be, based on DJI's long demonstrated track record of buggy software I will be giving it the benefit of the doubt and trying it myself.
     
    kirk2579 and rene van der meer like this.
  18. marko1953

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    The original poster of the video says it is a "Bug" in the software. It is not inconceivable that bugs of this type do occur and DJI's record is not perfect is it? If it was really true (difference in quality) I would expect at least some of you on here to have noticed by now. The fact that no one else has "discovered " this leads me to think that it is in fact not true or not discernible. If anyone else notices a difference please post on here.
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  19. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Software will always contain mistakes. If you hit the record button on the app or the RC it will give the same command to the firmware to start recording. Changing the quality for either of them, would require some extra function which must be added deliberately. Which does not make sense. The other issues are software mistakes.
    I agree. I think we can close this thread unless someone finds evidence that the quality actually does change.
     
    Wang J Coon and dhsprogis like this.
  20. ELHEAPO

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Blighty
    I know that wasnt the original question i was just responding to the delay point therealNick made if you had read my earlier post i responded to the original question plus i dont shoot in raw and this is only a fairly new occurance the delay never used to be that long!