Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Kaitlyn

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    As a brand new phantom owner, I'm wondering what the differences are (feature wise) between using a data/gps-connected smartphone and just a tablet?

    I've heard mentions of the tablets being non-cellular, but don't know what FEATURES that actually implies?

    What do I lose by just using my tablet? What about my tablet tethered to my phone, where it has data but still no gps? Anything else?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    People are referring to Apple devices. If it's a Wi-Fi only Apple device, it does not have a built-in GPS receiver.

    If you don't have GPS on your device, you cannot do the following:
    • Use the Follow Me feature in DJI GO
    • Reset the home point to your current location after taking off
    A lot of people probably never use those features. If you have no plans to use them, then a Wi-Fi only tablet will work just fine.

    This is useful if you need to download the maps -- and, did not cache them before you headed out to fly.
     
  3. PRA

    PRA

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LAS VEGAS
    Hi guys, new here too!
    I'm planning to use my old iPad A1395, can I?
    Please let me know anything. Thanks guys!
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    It's too slow to run DJI GO. You'll have a better experience if you use one of these devices instead.
     
  5. Start Visit

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have Wifi only Ipad and has no issues, it has build in GPS. you need just preload maps where you flying first. all modern tablets has build in GPS. also i made few "accuracy" tests, RTH gave me 1-2 feet accuracy landing, pretty good I think.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    FWIW, Wi-Fi only iPads do not have built-in GPS.
     
  7. Start Visit

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    13
    ops my bet. I was using my new Nvidia Shield.
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    The Phantom doesn't use the GPS in your tablet at all except for Follow-me and for resetting the home point to the current location of the controller.
    For all flying and RTH, the Phantom uses its own GPS.