Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Using ND filters on GoPro4/HD4 3d

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Mods' started by Jon Nutter, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. Jon Nutter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy y'all...

    Have any of you guys been using ND filters on your GoPros?...
    And if so, have they screwed up the gimbal's balance or its performance?
    The filters I'm looking at weigh close to 7g which ain't much but hey - that gimbal's a sensitive piece of equipment.
    I'd really appreciate some advice or some feedback from experienced flyers.
     
    #1 Jon Nutter, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  2. mbsevans

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used the Snake River Blur Fix on my H3-3D without issue.
     
  3. vgt

    vgt

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    72
    If you fly the gopro without a battery, its perfectly balanced with the filter on (H3-3D, GPH4B, PolarPro Filter)
     
  4. texmur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is very light photographic filter designed for DJI Zenmuse gimbals with Gopro which are very sensitive for additional weight
    ND4 or ND8 filter veight only 1.2gram!!!
    http://greyfilter.webnode.cz/
     
    #4 texmur, Jul 26, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  5. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    That's heavy.
     
  6. Terestron

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. texmur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    :confused:
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Personally as videographer I know the value of ND/CP filters on a camera that you can control but a GoPro with fixed f-stop on a P2 is a waste of money.
     
  9. landed

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just ordered some acetate film to see if I can make my own the prices are ridiculous for these filters which attach to the actual camera not housing. I got a decent filter at a good price but realised it attaches to the housing. I modified it to fit the camera ring instead of housing but it is too heavy for the gimbal so I'm trying to do some DIY solution.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app