Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Using camera without flying

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Tony Collings, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. Tony Collings

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    13
    Can you use the camera without flying? Just hold the P3P in your hands and use it as a kind of steadicam while shooting video?
     
  2. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Sure why not?
    As You know, the guys with the Inspire 1 have the keen advantage to remove the camera and use it, off the drone.

    RedHotPoker
     
  3. Tony Collings

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks. I meant not removing the camera from the P3P but holding the whole thing in my hands and shooting video without starting up the P3P motors. Is that possible?
     
  4. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    As I stated above, "Sure, Why Not!"
    You will still have to use the camera controls on the Tx though.

    But 'defiantly' doable. Hahaha
    If I didn't already own a Nikon D800, and Nikor lenses! I may have done the same thing. ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  5. Tony Collings

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    13
    Great. Thanks!
     
  6. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Why not just hover in place and shoot to your hearts content?
    You could also jerry rig a tripod holder, and attach the Phantom 3 atop it somehow.
    Perhaps with a wee bit of painters tape, or masking tape. Carefully remove it afterwards and use a very little isopropanol on a clean cloth and wipe away any residual sticky matte.
    For the Inspire 1 owners, DJI already have released a hand held gimbal affair...
    See it here:
    http://www.dji.com/product/ronin

    Have fun...

    RedHotPoker
     
  7. Motorotor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    23
    If you are going to do that, might I recommend that you do one thing, ok well maybe do two things.

    For sure - Take the props off
    Then depending on if you're moving ro stationary - Put the gimbal lock back on

    You need to power up the drone to use the camera, and wouldn't it be ugly if those props started twirling as you were trying to film something?

    ...additionally, to help steady your shot (if your stationary) since you're just carrying it around, why not lock it in place with the clear plastic lock it shipped with?

    Other than that, I'd have to agree with Red, and say...sure! why not?
     
  8. Terry Lewis

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Virginia


    From another thread.....
     
    Motorotor likes this.
  9. Motorotor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    23
    elephantom!!

    ...very very cool!
     
  10. BarryM

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Sydney Australia.
    I agree with all you said except fitting the plastic lock...to get a steady video the gimbal will only work with the lock removed, and the Phantom powered up without props for safety. Motors must not be started.
     
  11. Tony Collings

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks, guys. Great advice!
     
  12. Stephan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    82
    you will look pretty silly though if you wanting to do it quasi professionally
     
  13. Tony Collings

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    13
    Good point. I probably wouldn't use it that often. I already look silly enough....
     
  14. Motorotor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yeah, that's why I added the "if stationary". I was weighing the value of having it slop around during transport to if you were going to leave it on a table you didn't need the gimbal kinda' thing....

    But silly or not, that elephantom thing is a pretty freakin clever idea!
     
  15. Steve101

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do it a lot - with the props still on. Given the Jello issues it helps to at least holding it.