Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Using a monitor with FC40'

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by amladinic, Oct 9, 2014.

  1. amladinic

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking to get a monitor to use with the FC40 (its is difficult to see in my telephone) Can anyone help me? What monitor? What I have to do to install it?
    I am buying the iosd mini and I think that a monitor will help me to see....?

    Regards
    :D
    Antonio
     
  2. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    Just get a Kindle fire HD 7 inch. Thats all you need. If you want more range (further than 350 meters) you can buy a pigtail and antenna. I modded mine with a directional antenna.
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The iOSD mini will not do anything on a stock FC40, you would need to add a full separate FPV setup...and it would need to be on 2.4GHz to avoid signal conflicts with the FC40s 5.8GHz control channel.
     
  4. amladinic

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    and what I have to get to have a full FPV for my FC40?
    Can I do that?
    It is possible?
     
  5. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    True but you need only one extra item (PMU V2, which isn't very expensive)) compared to a P2 to do this so what's the problem?

    Not true. You can get a 1.2Ghz as well. 2.4Ghz even gives you a far better video range then 5.8 systems do, 1.2Ghz systems are also pretty powerful and still widely used.

    There are some FC40 pilots here flying with full FPV, do a search. My FC40 will get a FPV/IOSD upgrade as well, soon.
     
  6. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    Get a PMU V2 installed
    Install IOSD Mini
    Get yourself a transmitter and receiver set, 2.4GHz or 1.2 depending on taste (2.4Ghz are usually the same size as the 5.8Ghz versions)
    Install IOSD Mini and transmitter with velcro to underside of FC40
    Get power from the aux wire or one of the F channels from the Naza
    Get some goggles or a screen
    A 3s Lipo for the receiver and screen
    Attach screen to radio with Gopro sticky mounts

    Range varies from 500m to 6Km depending on what you choose

    done.
     
  7. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any i-pad or android tablet runs the dji fc4o app en will do the job.
     
  8. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    I use a 7" LCD screen (£40) and a 1.2Ghz video TX (£40) as I have changed radio to my Spektrum DX7 on my FC40 runs from lipos on the rear also on the rear is the 1.2 Ghz video RX - video has miniOSD so I can see full flight telemetry on screen and range is Superb! even using stock aerials! Plus the FC40 has Groundstation. You can see it slung underneath in the rear shot. The LED is now moved for Std remote LED as comes with a Std Naza Unit.
     

    Attached Files:

    dtitus6297 likes this.
  9. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    But will not give you any information. Useless for FPV flying.
    Nice for lining up shots in line of sight, within 200-400 feet but that's all.

    The OP already has experience with the phone app but wants advice about a proper FPV/monitor. Pointless to advice him to use what he already uses but doesn't like.
     
  10. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    Cool setup!
     
  11. daffydk

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1

    That Spektrum DX7 you have there is that a 2.4ghz model ? and if so , how didt you get the FC40 to use it ..

    Chris
     
  12. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    I swapped the RX inside, there is a 8Ch Spektrum RX, you can see the satelite rx stuck on the rear! :)
     
  13. daffydk

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ahh ok.. ;-)
     
  14. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I didn't realize there was a problem. The OP was asking about just throwing an iOSD mini on, and as I said you can't do that on a stock FC40, and even if you could just plug it in it would need a full FPV setup to see the data.

    You don't have to use the PMU to upgrade the FC40 for this, you can also use the P1 upgrade board which now has 2 options for adding canbus.

    Either way, an iOSD on an FC40 is pointless without the other gear.

    Yes, it needs to be a frequency OTHER than 5.8GHz, to avoid conflict with the control channel. There are several to choose from (even beyond 1.2GHz), but 2.4GHz is the most common and even the selection of those is relatively limited.

    I've added full FPV setups to a couple of FC40's, I never said it couldn't be done...just not on 5.8GHz (unless you replace the control radio).
     
  15. sohail99

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    Anyone know about any built in Rx 2.4GHz, 5-7" FPV screens (with built in battery) that I can use to view feed from my Video Tx transmitting the gopro feed?

    Everywhere I'm finding 5.8GHz fpv monitors!! :(
    My fc40 runs on 5.8ghz.
    Have upgraded the mainboard to fit a H3-3D gimbal and iOSD.
    Am planning on an fpv system.
    Looking at 2.4Ghz 600mW to 1000mW immersionRC or lawmate video Tx.

    Cant find any 2.4Ghz FPV monitors though which I can mount to my controller! :(
    Any help will be greatly appreciated. :)
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  16. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Yep, sucks to be us. I've looked and haven't found any. I hope you keep looking and find something.
    I am still trying to put together my FPV setup for the FC40. I need battery powered 12 volt, constant voltage to power the TV screen I will use for a monitor.

    I just picked up a P1 and it's got 2.4 control, so 5.8 FPV works. Paid $30 for camera and transmitter. Now all I have to do is decide which of the thousand monitors I want to use.

    Lotsa help, aren't I? :(
     
    sohail99 likes this.
  17. sohail99

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks a lot for the reply! Really appreciate it!

    I dunno why suddenly all FPV monitors are leaning towards 5.8Ghz!!:(

    Another possibility I see is, fatshark goggles with 2.4Ghz Rx module. But I'm afraid I might look super weird in that lol!
     
  18. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Yep, unless you are hanging out at the local RC Airport, folks are going to think all sorts of strange stuff. I don't think the FAA would think much of it either, assuming you're in the US.

    I think many of the new birds have 2.4 control, so that leaves 5.8 open for FPV.
     
    sohail99 likes this.
  19. sohail99

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
  20. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Did you find out what it costs? I didn't see a price... :eek: