Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Used Phantom 1 issues

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Whilash73, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just bought a used P1. When I power it up, It flashes green 4x, then green every second, like it has satellite lock, BUT it never flashes red, green, yellow on power up. It never asks for a Compass calibration either. It just keeps blinking green.

    I've updated the firmware, transmitter calibration, motor test via the Assistant, and everything else.

    The person I bought it from stated that the compass had been magnetized. I'm going to order a new one.

    I've tried to see if I could get a reaction by trying to fly it manually, but nothing; the motors won't even spin. I move the sticks, the LED does flash green 2x.

    Just wondering if anyone has ran into this issue, and what the fix as.Hopefully I am just looking at a bad compass module.
     
  2. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    When you plug it in to a PC and run the Assistant, do you see the GPS firmware version?
     
  3. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Under "upgrade" I a hardware I.D., and firmware 6.0.1.3
    I'm wondering if the LED board might be bad. Read a couple of posts about that. That would explain why I only get green flashes on the front.
    Going to check the GPS antenna and make sure it's not damaged too.
     
  4. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I saw that trick in another video, but I think my main problem is not being able to see yellow and red leds, so I know when to calibrate, or if there are other errors. I ordered a new led module, and a compass (just to be safe). Hoping it's not the GPS antenna, or the MC. High dollar items that would cost as much as a new P1. =/
     
  5. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    GPS puck = $10

    GPS assembly = :eek:
     
  6. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is that all the GPS (puck) antenna costs?
     
  7. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hoked it up to the Assistant again last night. The compass seems to be working, but off according to the recommended numbers. Gonna do the magnet trick and see if I can get it within spec. I guess I could try and calibrate the compass without without the red and yellow leds.
     
  8. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Someone else is having a similar problem at the moment, I think. Look around here and in the FC40 forum. If I haven't mentioned it yet, they are basically the same bird.

    Look at my signature for a good Google search link. :)
     
    #9 IflyinWY, Jun 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2015
  9. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got her airborne, but in the house. Haven't gotten a new led yet, but it works. Drifted quite a bit, but that could be due to lack of gps satellites, and no calibration. Been raining here alot, so I cant even get my grass cut.
     
  10. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Sounds like you've got a good start.
    If you get near a flat ceiling, it will suck itself right up there and stick.:eek:

    It's fun to do with a little Hubsan, but I wouldn't suggest it with a Phantom. :(
     
  11. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Naza LED was bad. Got all my colors. Not to figure out how to fly it. ;)
    Thanks for the help guys. Happy Flying!
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  12. Woody

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    31
    Glad to hear it Whilash! That's the first time I've ever heard of that particular componant going bad. At least now you have some experience troubleshooting and know your Phantom inside and out. Good luck on your next flight and let us know how it goes.
     
  13. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I certainly will. Looking for a decent used gopro to attach to it.
     
  14. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    GoPro makes a great camera. The problem with using it on a P1 is the WiFi from the camera may interfere with your control frequency. It could cause, well I really don't know. The only thing I have heard of is someone suspecting the GoPro of causing RTH after about 200 feet. They are both 2.4 g.

    If you are going to leave the WiFi off and go with FPV you should be OK.

    Wasn't sure if you knew that, so I figured I would throw it out there.
     
  15. Whilash73

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll probably just hit record and fly around for now. Probably be using it mostly on my Camaro for cruises and such. Thanks for the warning though. I'll keep it mind.