Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Use of Wifi to make network

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Bogwan, Jan 27, 2016.

  1. Bogwan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok so this maybe a little weird but I want to connect a laptop to the Phantom's wifi along with an older cellphone to make a network. Will this interfere with the Phantom controls or just the video? Thanks
     
  2. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    It is my understanding that the factory network will allow only one connection at a time.
     
  3. rladwig

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Bench tested and I can do it just wondering if it will have an effect on controls

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
     
  4. brianrmartin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    You trying to run wireshark?
     
  5. rladwig

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nope i want to make a network so I can run my Seek Thermal camera, which uses an app on my phone to see it live via SideSync on a laptop

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
     
  6. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    Oops I missed your actual question. It will not interfere with the controls as they are over the 5.8GHz link and not the 2.4GHz wifi link.
     
  7. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah you can connect multiple devices to the phantoms wifi network. You can only connect to the phantom with the client software from one device but that wont be a problem based on what you are trying to do.
    Once your multiple devices are connected to the wifi you should be able to ping everything like normal.
     
  8. rladwig

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks everyone. I do have one more question. Would I need to shield the compass somehow or if I place the cellphone opposite the compass would it be far enough away?

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
     
  9. brianrmartin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    I don't think you would have to shield it. Where are you putting it?
     
  10. rladwig

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thinking on a gimbal guard opposite of compass

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk