Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Use My Microsoft Surface Pro 3 as a Monitor?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by luan agos, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. luan agos

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey Guys, today i was thinking, why do i need to buy a tablet if i can just use my microsoft surface pro 3. i know there is no program for windows but i can download an android simulator and download the DJi Pilot on it i think, once my P3 gets here i will test it out and let u guys know.

    what do you guys think?
     
  2. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Using stuff like bluestacks or emulators is nothing but pure hassle and old unreliable software. They are going to be releasing windows phone software but don't know if it's going to be compatible with your surface pro?
     
  3. luan agos

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    all im saying it does not hurt to try, thats why im going to test it :D
     
  4. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    No harm at all
     
  5. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It might work since you can run the app and the connection is by cable.
     
  6. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    It might run but it doesn't have GPS that I know of so you'd be missing that functionality. SP3 owner here too and I also wish they had a native Windows app.
     
  7. Ian H

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    18
    What's your source regarding a Windows Phone app release? Curious since I have a Windows phone but am considering getting an Android tablet just for the Phantom...
     
  8. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Screenshot_2015-04-21-18-24-56.png
     
  9. QuikSilver15

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hate to reopen an old discussion but no need to start a new one....Anyone have any luck with this? Tried messing around with my Phantom and Surface pro 3 but wasn't sure if I'm missing something trivial. Have DJI Go app running on surface tablet using Bluestacks, main thing seems to be connection between controller and Tablet. Used a male to male USB cable but no luck....
     
  10. Kmullins87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    It probably won't work via bluestacks that layer is keeping the signal from going through properly I'd bet... great idea though, bet you play clash of clans too!
     
    QuikSilver15 likes this.
  11. Egonvdv

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I've got the same problem. No solution at all? (like to avoid buying another tablet...)
     
  12. Fat City

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    near Boston, MA
    I'm not an expert on USB, but I think connecting a Surface 3 to the Phantom RC won''t work because both need to be the USB host device. Phones and tablets usually act as peripheral devices, but I don't know if the Surface can do that. Maybe one of the special USB cables used to transfer files from one PC to another would work, but otherwise I think you won't find any cables with the right connector on each end.