Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

USB power from a Vision

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by wharfbanger, Jun 21, 2014.

1. wharfbanger

Just wondering if it is possible to supply a thermal camera with USB 5V power from the Vision?

I am a geothermal scientist and have purchased a V2+ for research. I am planning to remove the stock camera/gimbal (temporarily) and fitting a Flir thermal camera. The Flir camera requires an accessory for data capture that uses mini USB for power (5V 200mA):

http://www.teax-tec.de/fileadmin/datash ... ure_en.pdf

Cheers,
    Mark

2. brizey

5v UBEC from adafruit works fine using it with a raspberry pi.

3. robby666111

The USB port on the Vision is not a host or OTG port, so therefore will not supply power to connected device.
    You can pull power off the internal connectors on the phantom mother board. Get Phantom 2 cable kit http://www.helipal.com/phantom2-22-dji-phantom-2-phantom-2-vision-cable-pack.html, and you should be able to find a suitable supply. You will need to open up the phantom, and do some research on the connectors. I know for a fact that the CAN port connector does have 5V. Then make a custom cable to go from the CAN bus port to your camera. Not the easiest I know, but it can be done.

Hope this helps.
    Cheers,
    Rob.

4. MonsieurAnon

I'm going to take a quick guess and assume that your FLIR camera is not cheap. I've flown my Phantom 2 with considerable payloads ... 390g compact mirrorless DSLRs that aren't super cheap, but probably easier to lose in a crash. Flight characteristics can change dramatically as you add weight and I highly recommend learning to fly with the stock camera then moving up through some cheaper alternatives if you cannot afford to lose your intended equipment.

Good luck.

5. CityZen