Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Upgrading the gimbal

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by general01, Dec 26, 2014.

  1. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok guys here goes
    I was flying my Phantom before a storm came a few months ago(wanted a pic of the storm before I got too close)

    I had it in Atti mode and the take off went smooth and easy but about the time I got it into position a gust of wind caught it

    So I bring it back down quickly while trying to avoid hitting something(besides the ground)

    The result was one broken prop and a broken gimbal mount on the camera(camera works btw)

    I need to know is this a good gimbal to get or not?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/321413210657?redirect=mobile

    I am wanting to get it back into flying shape before we get any snow here as I already missed the peak color time back in fall(major bummer)
    Also will I need to take apart my phantom in any way to change the gimbal

    If anyone knows of a better gimbal for around the same price I am all ears
     
  2. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Bump anyone?
     
  3. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    I think its a toss of a coin if you get it working. There's some threads on here with people having problems.
     
  4. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Anyone got any suggestions I would hate to get a dud
     
  5. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
  6. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  7. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cyclone I have seen the rotorpixal gimbals(nice but pricey)
    Crash1sttime they are the same as the one in my link(which is a us seller)
    What I am afraid of is my cousin may crash it and damage the gimbal(I already have done it due to a mishap with wind once not chancing a second time)

    I may take a gamble on the ebay one and see if it works out if not then I can always get my money back and put it on a second phantom :) while keeping this on for my cousins to fly without the camera
     
  8. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
  9. Studmule

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. zenoshrdlu

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Totnes, Devon
  11. Studmule

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't agree more!
     
  12. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok guys
    I will watch the video on the gimbal it's good to know I am at least getting one that's a good brand

    I am getting a vision plus to go with this one so I may transfer the guts from the phantom shell to a different frame to break up the cloned look
     
  13. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just watched the video(info overload for me)

    Can't wait to see how it will do over the stock

    Thanks for the help guys