Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Upgraded to Inspire 1 this week

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by John J., Mar 31, 2015.

  1. John J.

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey Guys,

    I had waterlogged my Phantom 2/IOSD/GoPro4 at the beginning of the year. Finally was getting around to deciding on a Phantom 2/GoPro replacement but definitely upping to the Lightbridge FPV system. For my own flying/filming I just found that the IOSD/Black Pearl monitor for FPV wasn't cutting it for me. Plenty of static unless you are flying within range with next to no line of sight blockage between the remote and the P2.

    I was ready with credit card in hand speaking to my dealer. He was fine with my new order details, until the last minute when he said "you know, for a couple hundred dollars more you can move up to an Inspire 1, right now you're basically Frankensteining a P2 to do what an Inspire does 10 times better, out of the box..." . He was right, but I decided to upgrade to an iPad Air 2 as FPV monitor for Lightbridge.

    About 5 minutes later I ordered the Inspire 1. Arrived 2 days later, and I've been familiarizing myself with the cool amount of learning curve regarding the massive amount of control this system brings. Looking to fly it for the first time this weekend weather permitting. All I can say, really looking forward to what DJI will be putting into the upcoming Phantom 3, because what they've achieved with the Inspire 1 is incredible. There is just too much amazing detail dialed into the Inspire not to be shared with the P3.

    Met some great colleagues in this forum, learned a lot! Will continue to check in weekly.

    - John
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Congratulations John!!! Look after her.
    I've heard they are very very hard to repair after a mishap - like a cracked vase, it cannot be perfectly repaired unless you send back to DJI.
     
  3. thestone11

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Congrats, looking forward for her photos and videos
     
  4. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    Hey john..
    good choice on the inspire. .
    if you haven't joined inspirepilots.com then I invite you to join..
    turbo. .
     
  5. John J.

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Guys,

    Hey Turbo, I'm already signed up there.
     
  6. Marlin009

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    West Coast of Florida
  7. adanac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    I have never come close to $3K with my Phantom including iOSD, VTX, etc. I'm not even sure what I could ever buy for my P2 that could get the price close to $3K. Actually, I have two fully loaded P2's and together they might be close to $3K.
     
    cokeaddict likes this.
  8. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
  9. Marlin009

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    West Coast of Florida
    I didn't but I can see what someone might have done. :D
     
  10. cokeaddict

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    10
    couldnt work that one out either. No way a P2 can add up to that much.
     
  11. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    Also.. with regards to static.. you'll still need to fly the Inspire 1 in a way that there are no objects between you an it... there'll be no static to warn of a bad signal.. just a blank screen.

    Analogue still has a lot going for it... :)
     
  12. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Have you checked the price on the Lightbridge system?
     
  13. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Yeah. It should be called Lightwallet :)