Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Upgrade radio on P2?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Mods' started by Hobse, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. Hobse

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi

    Is it possible to fit the new upgraded DJI radio/transmitter on the P2 or is it only for the vision.
    I really like the gimbal tilt and the battery monitoring (and the price)

    Is it possible?

    Regards
     
  2. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    You can purchase the new remote and bind it to your existing P2's receiver. Cost of new remote is $100.
     
  3. Hobse

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    That's because that one is made for the Vision line. It's 5.8, you want the 2.4 remote.
     
  5. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
  6. Hobse

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
  7. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    It went up in price. I bought one for $29. Still a good price.
     
  8. Hobse

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Indeed.
     
  9. f1renz

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    The new 2.4ghz controller was one of the best upgrades you will ever doo. video tilt was so smooth. here is my first video with the new controller.
     
  10. f1renz

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here is the video I watched on youtube that made me go and get one.
     
  11. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Keep in mind that if you zenmuse H3-2D gimbal the new RC controller is not COMPATIBLE with that gimbal
     
  12. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    From what I hear, it is compatible if you upgrade the firmware.
     
  13. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Doesn't make any difference what you think you heard DJI said that the new RC controller is not compatible with the old and discontinued Zenmuse H3-2D gimbal. And that means it will not no matter what software they may be using.